We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“FIRST CLASS”
other travellers have booked this property
Double room located on the top floor with bath and ensuite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Double room located on the top floor with bath and ensuite
Double room loated on the first floor with ensuite  and shower The Dutch House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
35 reviews
Double room located on the top floor with bath and ensuite
Double room loated on the first floor with ensuite  and shower
The Dutch House
Double ended bath located in bedroom
Fully equipt hand made kitchen
Health Wealth and Happinesss
Cosy living
Open plan dining area .
York Minster
The Shambles
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
happytrav...
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Birthday stay”
Reviewed 6 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I booked this for my husbands 60th birthday. I paid more than I would normally for the history of the house, the location and the ability to walk or bus everywhere which was great. Nice bottle of wine and chocolates on arrival. Lots of places to eat within minutes. York is a great place to visit with friendly people. The house would benefit from some secondary glazing as the noise at night was very disturbing despite ear plugs. Some of this noise was due to the tapas bar on the corner being refitted. Vans and workman, who managed to make an Olympic sport out of opening and closing van doors, coming and going until 3 and 4 in morning. Not the fault of the owners but had I been aware I may well have made alternative arrangements.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
decaugnan...
kent
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“FIRST CLASS”
Reviewed 8 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Booked The Dutch House for a long weekend away and what a lovely place. Spotless and homely, beautifully renovated and practically faultless. The bedrooms were warm and roomy, the beds comfy and the bath...with lashings of hot water..heaven. Just two little points 1. The path outside is not very wide so the traffic comes close to the front door. 2. The alcoves besides the TV give off quite a draft so to combat that we got the spare blankets and put them over the cracks...job done. The location is as close to perfect as you could get, fall out of bed and you're in the quaint shops of the Shambles, and if your arms ache from all those shopping bags just a short walk back, drop them off and away you go again. The parking space is a massive bonus, so all in all....PERFECT

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Drafts
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaceynSt...
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic, faultless, everything we expected and more.”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Couldn't fault this beautiful house. Everything is of high standard, and when I return to York I would definitely book the dutch house again. So central, clean, warm and comfortable. What an amazing piece of history the Rodgers have restored :) and we thank them for our lovely stay Stacey and Stuart.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan_leeds
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful and luxurious haven in York City Centre”
Reviewed 19 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We were taken aback by how lovely the Dutch House was. The property is renovated to a very high standard with good quality fittings, furniture and appliances. There was a thoughtful welcome basket of wine, chocolates and biscuits. The rooms were all a great size and the whole apartment was toasty warm for our arrival. The location is superb, we were very happy and will definitely return. Thanks for having us and for putting up the Christmas tree for us, which got us feeling very festive!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrisnjoo...
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Historic Holiday Home”
Reviewed 25 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend with both of our Daughters for a family break and what a fabulous place it was. Everything has been thought of to make your stay a home from home. The house is kitted out to a very high standard and also has the added bonus of a secure parking space ( free ) which is great for York. The location is right in the centre of the City which makes every part of it accessible on foot.
It feels very special to be staying in a 400 year old house in such a Historic City as York and a holiday we will remember for a long time to come.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warmth of the House
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing