We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Garden view from the balcony - Central York
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden view from the balcony - Central York
Lounge area and LCD HD TV. T Lounge Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Garden view from the balcony - Central York
Lounge area and LCD HD TV. T
Lounge Area
Bedroom
Dining
Bathroom
Gardens
Wall mounted LCD TV in the bedroom
Features
York at night
York Minster
Kings Arms Pub
The Shambles
Features
Apartment from the gardens
The complex
Gardens
Features
Secure allocated parking space
York is great for New Year and Winter
York is enchanting in Winter as well as Summer
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laura C
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed here in June for our 1 year anniversary. The apartment was beautiful with views over the gardens.
Its perfect location meant everything was accessible by foot.
The parking space was a great bonus as it took the stress out of finding somewhere to park.
We will definitely book here again for our next trip to York.
Thank you, Laura & Adam

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2015
Thanks Laura and Adam. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Would love to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliott19...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Mini Break - sight seeing York City”
Reviewed 15 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

On arrival we were met by Shaun who took us through all the parking and access to apartment. Explain in detail about all the appliances etc. We were extremely impressed by the space, modern feel how clean and tidy every room was. The apartment had everything you would need to enjoy your stay we found it a very warm apartment even in February. It was only a few minutes walk to restaurants, bars and shopping areas an ideal location. We had a fabulous stay and would definitely recommend to our family and friends and will definitely stay again and again. Thank you for making out stay in York a very welcome one!! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the modern space inside the apartment
Liked least: nothing everything was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricLinin
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent base for a memorable stay”
Reviewed 8 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We found the apartment very spacious and comfortable, clean and tidy and well appointed and with everything we needed to support our stay.

Locationally you couldn't ask for much better - a short walk to the Ouse, and then over the bridge to everything that York has to offer. 5 minutes from the Shambles, 15 minutes from the Minster.

This apartment comes highly recommended - thank you for a lovely break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the amount of space available
Liked least: sofas aren't the comfiest ever, but that's a very small niggle
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimnmel
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great position and well appointed”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here for 4 days with my elderly parents. They loved it! A short walk to York centre and parking included - that must be worth a bit. A small general stores is round the corner. Staff were very obliging. Everything was well appointed. Worst thing to say was that the sofa-bed was not particularly comfortable - but they rarely are. All appliances were clean although we were out most of the time and did not use much. Wifi worked well. The TV controls took a bit of getting used to but we had been advised what to do. Some very pleasant garden as part of the complex. It was remarkably quiet for an apartment so close to the city centre. I have recommended it to family and hope to return there again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: position
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathclif...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Be wary of term.. " luxury appointed through-out. As the apartment was described as "luxury" we were very disappointed to find so many issues ( we had booked this apartment on the strength of positive reviews.) After making sure we arrived at the requested time we found that Shaun was not there to let us into the apartment. We waited about 20mins or so for him to arrive. Also.....

1) Oven was VERY dirty
2) Dishwasher was not working and smelled absolutely disgusting. I guess the dishwasher had not been working for quite some time. ( apparently it has since been replaced with a new one after we left)
3) Waste disposal didn't look too clean and didn't smell too pleasant either. Grubby bowl placed under pipes underneath the sink
4) No microwave plates/dishes
5) No egg cups ( well we couldn't find any)
6) Cereal/soup bowls from sideboard...some of them the glaze was all cracked
7) No hand towel in kitchen, only tea towels
8) General cleanliness area around sink was poor. I used kitchen paper sprayed with anti- bac around the rim at the top of the sink and the dirt that came off was disgusting.
9) Rubber collar around washing machine was dirty (wouldn't think about putting my washing in there)
10) Drawer under the oven unit was dirty inside
11) Glass shelf and glasses above sink were not clean
12) Two under cupboard kitchen lights stopped working.
13) A decent sharp knife wouldn't go amiss
14) A small guest soap in the bathroom would have been appreciated
15) Bedroom blind very dusty
16) The bedroom was very warm at night, perhaps a fan would help?
17) A radio was also be very welcome
18) And last but not least....would a small welcome package be too much to ask in a " luxury appointed" apartment?

I sent a few photos to back up my claims to the owner.

I have been in contact with the owner and said I didn't think it was unreasonable to ask for a refund of sorts ( as a goodwill gesture) as we had paid for working, clean appliances but he refused to offer us one because he claimed we did not give him an opportunity to address these issues of which he said... " could have been dealt with within an hour." I doubt it! When I book a "luxury" apartment I don't expect to have to make arrangements for repair men/ or someone coming in to do cleaning that should have been done before I arrived....I'm on holiday for goodness sake!
Mr Truelove offered us a reduced rate ( because the dishwasher was not working) only if we chose to stay there again in the future and that was it. Very disappointed.
The apartment was in a great location but," luxury"?...No.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2014
After 3 years of very happy customers it is inevitable that eventually a guest arrives who cannot be pleased......

The review speaks for itself and the majority of people will see that the guest spent more time attempting to gather evidence immediately upon arrival for a refund post stay than enjoying this fantastic apartment and city.
All the points listed in the review could have been resolved on the day of arrival if they were indeed a problem, but we were not given the opportunity to address them. The guest called me to ‘complain’ about 'cleanliness issues' (vaguely) but didn't then respond to my request to allow us entry to the property to see what the 'issues' were and resolve them - seems a bit odd eh?....

And lo and behold a few weeks later, the next I hear is a request for a partial refund or a threat of a bad review. I conceded the dishwasher seemed to have been broken (although we couldn't get access to look at this at the time, but it has now been replaced with a brand new one) so offered a discounted rate off a future booking. I didn't however concede anything else because we could have come in and addressed the other points that day had we been asked to do so.

If our apartment was really as bad as the guest is trying to make out we certainly wouldn't enjoy the bookings we do (nearly 100%) and the repeat customers that come back time and time again. Just check out our positive reviews on this and other popular booking sites.

It's sad that as a one apartment owner who works very very hard to provide a quality product, service and experience that I have to deal with this sort of thing. I have no doubt that people like this would complain in the best hotel in the world looking for a refund.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing