We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Yorkshire Air Museum
from US$64.98
More Info
Reviews (1,770)
Filter reviews
1,770 results
Traveller rating
1,198
461
81
19
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,198
461
81
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews control tower halifax bomber bomber command second world war aviation history handley page memorial garden static aircraft main hanger on display well worth a visit cold war few hours value for money great place to visit interesting exhibits couple of hours
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,770 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2021

A lovely museum, and very interesting. Helpful volunteers and a lovely cafe, which is very reasonably priced and beautifully clean.

Date of experience: October 2021
Thank Holidaycrazy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 October 2021

It had been fifteen years since my last visit to the Yorkshire Air Museum at Elvington and I immediately noticed many changes.

The aircraft exhibits outside are now spaced perfectly for the photographers amongst us, those inside being protected from the elements are less well spaced out but even so its great to see that they are being protected from the weather!

A great bunch of volunteers assisting with any questions that you may have and interesting talking to one in particular Tony Kisby who has a wealth of knowledge about the exhibits.

A good cross section of exhibits ranging from WW 1 to the present, most recently retired (2019) was the Tornado GR.4.

Next year along with a few friends of mine we intend to visit/re-visit the museum and spend a little longer than I personally had there.

For those that use Public Transport, the bus stops at the entrance to the Museum but it is a very infrequent service so be aware of the return time(s).

For those of you driving there is an ample car park on site, refreshments are available from the Cafe but don't be like me and miss the closing time of 15:00L/3 pm local time :-)

A very interesting and informative few hours spent there and thank you to all that volunteer / administer the running of this museum

Date of experience: October 2021
Thank Justincase67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 October 2021

Varied collection of aircraft spanning WW1 through the modern day. Nicely presented in WW2 era buildings, very knowledgeable staff, good cafe and small shop. If you like your aircraft, its well worth a visit.

Date of experience: October 2021
1  Thank Stuart_Away_Again
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 October 2021 via mobile

Well worth a visit for anyone remotely interested in aviation or local history. Everything nicely displayed with good information boards and easy to photograph.

Date of experience: October 2021
1  Thank mystic100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 September 2021

We visited this ,museum in September 2021 . We thoroughly enjoyed our time here
it is really good value for money and an interesting place despite I thought it might be a bit boring how wrong could I be I learnt such a lot

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank tracey40angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews