We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We wish we could have stayed longer”

Review of Foss Haven

Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
Dining Room Double Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Lounge
Dining Room
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Ensuite
Kitchen
Riverside Garden
Garden View over the River Foss Lock and Castle Walls
Riverside Garden
Sun Room
Sun Room
Garden View over the River Foss Lock and Castle Walls
St Helens Square
Stonegate
The Shambles
York Minster
York Railway Museum
York Racecourse
Cliffords Tower
Merchant Adventurers Hall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mats V
Tartu, Estonia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We wish we could have stayed longer”
Reviewed 26 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

It is a great place to stay. 1) It has a good location: away from the bustle of the city center, but still within walking distance. 2) The garden and the view are amazing. 3) The owner is very nice and prompt.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiona m
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location lovely house and garden , everything you need .”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Lovely house was a good size for our family . Only one complaint could do with a décor freshen up . Would stay again as it was a very good location , olny five minutes walk into town and shops etc .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalecrew1...
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Early family christmas”
Reviewed 12 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Foss Haven was able to accommodate 8 members of my family comfortably. It was an easy walk into the centre of town. The kitchen was well equipped. The position by the river would be nice in summer. I would have liked a welcome information book rather than just a file of appliance instructions. Mind you if we had read the boiler one we might not have run out of hot water when we all tried to have showers. I would recommend the addition of a mattress overlay as I found my bed rather hard. Over all we had a great stay.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levesy
Camelford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely house, riverside location and close to the city centre!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

There were 7 ladies in our party that stayed at Foss Haven in a house that I could only describe as a tardis, from initial looks the outside looked very small but i have to say it was much bigger on the inside!
It was lovely and clean, very spacious and had a fantastic riverside patio area with bench seats and chairs, a perfect setting for our first night relaxing by the river with a cool glass of wine.
The bedrooms were all really well presented with lovely clean linen (I don't know where the reviewer who said it was like tired student digs was staying, it certainly couldn't have been the same place!) the bedroom on the ground floor even had a lovely conservatory attached that overlooks the outside patio area.
The living room was really nice with plenty of seating for the 7 of us with a well stocked kitchen and decent sized dinning area.
The house was only a short walk from a local Tesco's with several pubs along the way and just a 10 minute walk into the centre of York with all the shops and local historic sights.
All in all an amazing place to stay and I would certainly recommend Foss Haven to anyone wanting a short city break or even a weeks holiday, perfect location, perfect house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Riverside location, very close to the city centre
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beryl H
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Riverside House”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at Foss Haven The house is lovely with five bedrooms and two bathrooms which was ideal for our party. York centre is just a few minutes stroll along the river. The garden is extremely pleasant and overlooks the river. We shall definitely return. Superb.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$244
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing