We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
County House - Grand landmark building with gated parking
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
County House - Grand landmark building with gated parking
Lounge with French doors to private patio Bedroom made up with a superking bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
County House - Grand landmark building with gated parking
Lounge with French doors to private patio
Bedroom made up with a superking bed
Fully equiped kitchen
Patio Doors let in the sunshine
Lounge
Dining kitchen
Lounge/Dining
Lounge/Dining
Kitchen/Diner
Outside Dining
Private patio
Bedroom - made up with Twin Beds
Bedroom showing extra bed, sleeping 3 people
Bathroom with shower over bath
Imposing entrance hall in County House
County House taken from the Minster roof - the large building just above the spires
Near the city walls and gateway- only 2 minutes walk
Near the Minster - only 4 minutes walk
Winter Breaks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kerrin197...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect home from home”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our first time staying in this property though have been to York many times over the years. County House Retreat might just be our new favourite place to stay, its a beautiful flat and has just about anything you could need, so feels like home right away. The proprietors gave us a warm welcome as always (their other property Monks Retreat is nearby, also fab) and they could not have been more helpful, though with the standard of the property and location we needed nothing else for our stay. Highly recommended, we will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loveholid...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our third stay in this lovely apartment it is ideal location for going into York , Philip and Mary are excellent hosts and make you very welcome , it is just home from home with everything you could possibly need the washer is a bonus also ,it is also very quiet no noise or sleep disturbance can not fault it in anyway just ideal

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2014
Thank you. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EwanPhoto
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect for exploring York”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The County House Retreat is a beautiful apartment and very well equipped.

The location couldn't be better for the centre of York and parking on site for guests makes it the perfect place if you have a car on your holiday.

Spotlessly clean and very comfortable.

I struggle to find anything negative to say about the apartment, shampoo and shower gel in the bathroom would be a nice touch but we had ours with us so it wasn't an issue.

A wonderful welcome from the owners and some nice treats on the dining table for us to enjoy before heading out for dinner.

I would highly recommend this apartment for couples looking to enjoy all that York has to offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No toiletries, but not a big issue. The apartment is great!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have now added shampoo, shower gel and bath creme for the use of the guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcbAylesb...
Aylesbury
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best possible way to enjoy York”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This lovely apartment is only minutes away from the City Walls but wonderfully quiet and peaceful. The secure car park is a huge advantage as public parking is expensive in York. The location is absolutely perfect to walk anywhere into York or to join the ring road to visit places further afield. It was a delight to visit the theatre and cinema and then have a pleasant stroll back to the welcoming apartment.

The apartment itself is immaculate and beautifully furnished with doors opening onto a patio. It felt light and airy even when it was raining and was glorious when the sun shone through the large windows. The kitchen is well equipped and absolutely spotless.

It was delight to be made so welcome by Phil who met me at the gates. The table was set for tea with scones and jam, Yorkshire parkin and Yorkshire beer - such a good start to my stay.

Although there is an imposing front entrance there is also a very handy side entrance to County House which avoids any stairs.

The apartment is also flexible in that the bedroom can be made up with three single beds if required.

I would recommend this apartment to anyone wanting to vist York and very much hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That it took two minutes to get to the City Walls but was so quiet
Liked least: Absolutely nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlandi...
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best Vacation Rental Ever”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Yes, it's taken me awhile to post this review. One of the reasons I came back to do so is because this memorable apartment has become the standard for us to compare all other apartments. Few can measure up.

It is light, airy, and spacious, well maintained, and immaculately clean. Mary and Phil were so warm and welcoming, and had a table set for us with scones, jam and butter (not to mention a bottle of wine) when we arrived. The apartment was quiet, but very conveniently located for walks about town. I might also mention that we were traveling by train, and it was easy to get to and from the station, and we felt no need at all to have a car.

The kitchen was very well outfitted, so you could actually cook something if you hadn't indulged in one too many Cornish pasties as I did. Sainsbury's is just next door, so it couldn't be more convenient. I continue to recommended this apartment to friends, but I also hope that we will have the opportunity to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$147
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing