We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location location location”
14 Talbot Court
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
14 Talbot Court
Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
14 Talbot Court
Bedroom
Sitting area
Sitting area
Bathroom
Dining area
Sitting area seen from dining area
Bedroom
Mediaeval exterior
Minster view
Private gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Linda M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Location location location”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband and I stayed in this apartment for 4 nights and we found it absolutely wonderful.
It is right in the centre of York, no need for a car and so many interesting sights close by.
John was an amazing host, very helpful and a gentleman. The apartment is set up so well it felt like home away from home. Highly recommend this apartment ! We would love to visit again one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FeesonsTa...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Luxury oasis within the beautiful city of York”
Reviewed 25 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Genuinely, superlatives fail me here... Every single thing - location, standard of property, quality of fittings, ease of access, host communications, extra touches and simplicity of booking made this an utterly perfect stay. Right from my first enquiry, John's communications were fast, friendly and humorous, and I've honestly never had such comprehensive and detail-packed information for visiting a rental property. I travelled with my (elderly) aunt and accessibility was a priority - there is level access from the street, a lift to the apartment floor and a couple of steps up to the apartment corridor. The apartment itself is a great space, and lovely and airy and with great sounds of the Minster bells! Aunt had the bed and said it was the best sleep she's had in ages, and I had the sofa bed and slept like a log. We were spoiled for choice with many restaurants just feet away from the apartment. The private garden is absolutely lovely, has great views of the Minster and the medieval building in the courtyard, all topped off with hearing the choir practice in the lovely building just over the wall! Betty's cake, Yorkshire tea, a pint of milk and fresh flowers were lovely extra touches. The personalised note left for our arrival confirmed that impeccable balance of seamless professionalism with friendly approachability that John and Helena bring to their business: it operates like a perfectly oiled machine but is so personable that it feels like you are staying with family. I got home last night and am already looking into availability of other dates, and if you're reading this but thinking it might be a bit small for your needs look at John and Helena's other York property (Stonegate - 2 bed, 2 bath) because I would trust implicitly that it will be on a perfect par with Talbot Court. Just book - you won't regret it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, quality of property/fittings + ease of booking/communications (everything, really!)
Liked least: Absolutely nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
“Ideal Location - Excellent Host”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Best rental in York. Steps from the Shambles with views of the Minster, but still quiet and secluded. The flat is right in the middle of the everything, but set inside a courtyard to give the feel of privacy. It was so well situated that we could stop back for lunch or to drop off a package and not lose any time.

The flat was clean, modern and wonderfully appointed. There were clear instructions on ow to get the keys, where parking is located, and how to operate everything. The hosts run this rental themselves, but it is handled very professionally.

We spent two nights here over Easter. The host left an Easter surprise for my two girls with a personalized note. He remembered their names and ages from an earlier conversation during the booking process. He also gave us some great information about the city, the Minster and where we could explore. We couldn't have been more pleased with our experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and professionalism of the hosts
Liked least: Everything was perfect
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill K
Great Falls, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed 3 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Talbot Court is the perfect location for anyone looking to enjoy the medieval splendor of York and visit its sights including the very nearby Minister. John and Helena are excellent hosts, providing guidance and a gracious welcome. The living space in this unit is particularly spacious because of its flow-together configuration. We were a party of 5 for meals and that was no problem (no tripping over each other etc). I would certainly stay in number 14 again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and the lovely large living/dinning/kitchen space
Liked least: the bedroom windows did some serious rattling at night, but then it was very windy
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken1103
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellant location, great appartment.”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Just returned from a long weekend that was made all the more enjoyable by the location of the apartment. Situated near the Shambles it is central to all the many attractions and shops. The apartment backs onto the Minster with plenty of restaurants near by. Although in the centre of York, once inside the apartment you cannot hear a thing. John helped make our stay even more enjoyable with the maps directions and the welcome. The apartment itself has everything you may need including its own parking space a few minutes walk away. We will definitely be looking to stay here again on our next visit to York, the location could not be beaten.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;