We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, homely and cosy”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Corner House

The lounge, from the dining area.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The lounge, from the dining area.
Another angle of the lounge. Our lounge, perfect for cosy nights in!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
99 reviews
The lounge, from the dining area.
Another angle of the lounge.
Our lounge, perfect for cosy nights in!
Our open plan kitchen!
The Green Room - with its super comfy king size bed (with super king sized duvet!).
The Blue Room - with two gorgeously comfy single beds (with double duvets!).
Our shower room.
Yes, this really is the view from almost every room in the cottage!
Another photo of the Tour De Yorkshire passing The Corner House on 1 May 2015!
View of the harbour
View of the east side and St Mary's Church
View of the Abbey and St Mary's Church from the beach
The star rating taking pride of place!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 99 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
samantha...
1 review
“Beautiful, homely and cosy”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Highly recommend this cottage, ticks every box! In the heart of Whitby, beautiful views, access to wherever you want to go. Clean, cute and a home from home! Can't wait to revisit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was lovely
Liked least: parking was a bit hit and miss
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2016
Hi,

Thank you so much for your brilliant review.

I'm so pleased that you like what we've done to the place and, of course, our superb location, which we fell in love with straight away too!

I'm also over the moon to hear that you're planning on staying with us again; you'd be very much welcome any time.

Cheers,

Nichola x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trisha H
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A precious gem right in the heart of Whitby”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Nichola was the perfect host right from the moment of booking and throughout the holiday. She provided directions to the property and a list of recommended eating places. The location of the property was perfect - close to local amenities but surprisingly quiet. It was a lovely old cottage which was almost 400 years old and furnished to a very high standard. Downstairs was a fully equipped kitchen, dining area and lounge area. Upstairs was a bathroom with a double width shower, toilet and sink and two large bedrooms. I can honestly say that the king size bed was really comfortable. There was also plenty of storage for clothes and each room had its own TV/DVD player. Nichola contacted us on the day of our stay giving instructions for gaining entry to the property and asked us to let her know we had arrived safely. I wold not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone and will certainly be staying here again if I visit Whitby in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The way the property was laid out and furnished
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2016
Hi,

Thank you for your fabulous review - I'm absolutely over the moon that you enjoyed yourselves and that you like what we've done with our little cottage!

Your kind words also mean a huge amount to me as I really want everyone to have the best time that I can provide and try to think of what I would like/need if we were going away anywhere.

It's great to hear that you're happy to recommend and even happier to hear that you're intending to stay again, you guys will be more than welcome any time.

Cheers,

Nichola x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterjune...
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Everything you could wish for In this 5* Cottage.In the centre of Whitby.”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Fantastic Little cottage in the heart of Whitby. Everything you could wish for, Microwave,Washer/drier Free WiFi, & TVs in every room.Spotlessly clean comfortable beds with crisp clean White bedding. The owners have made A great Job of renovating this little Gem to a very high standard. We all Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Whitby. The location was just perfect. Nicola sent directions door to door and even gave us her mobile number so we could get in touch if we needed anything .She really put her heart and soul into making us feel most welcome.Restaurants for all tastes on the doorstep.Pie & mash next door A Must,Mr chips Across the road Great fish & Fantastic Burgers,We will definitely Recommend to every one.Love to come back to The Corner House Whitdy. Thank you Nicola For All your help & Kindness, XXXX

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything,Great cottage,Location,& Most Freindly & Helpful host
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2016
Hi,

Wow, what a fantastic review!

I'm chuffed to bits that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked what we've done to the place!

Yes, we really are very blessed to have such great places to eat all around us, it's great!

I'm glad you liked the location too, this is what first attracted us to this little cottage - that view, I could and do, sit and gaze out at it for hours - especially since you get to see the smoke from the steam trains across the harbour as they come and go!

You guys are more than welcome back at any time!

Cheers,

Nichola x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heynik
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful cozy cottage in the heart of Whitby!!! Amazing experience”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

First off Nichola should win hostess of the year award!! She provided everything thing we could dream of including a detailed suggested itinerary in and around Whitby!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2016
Hi,

Thank you so very much for this wonderful review and I'm chuffed to bits that you enjoyed your stay.

I'm also really pleased that the suggestions for places to visit/eat that I sent you were helpful.

Your kind words genuinely mean an awful lot to me and, of course, you're more than welcome back any time.

Nichola x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location was perfect
Liked least: no milk on arrival - (mattered more because no shops nearby were open)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Jun 2016
Hi,

Thank you for your fabulous review, I'm chuffed to bits that you enjoyed your stay (I'm especially pleased Wilfred had a great time too!)

I'm annoyed with myself about the towels, as I actually already have them and haven't had the chance to get across - so they are on their way!

With regard to the milk, as I'm not on the doorstep, it is difficult to arrange for this to be available, I will have a chat with our housekeeper though, to see if we could work out a reliable way of getting this sorted - watch this space (I'm glad the wine was okay as a substitute though!)!

I'm also very happy that you liked what we've done to the place, you and your family are more than welcome back at any time.

Cheers,

Nichola x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing