We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful cottage with stunning views”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Stable

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Our playground for the kids
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lisacmitc...
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful cottage with stunning views”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Had a lovely stay in a very clean and comfortable cottage. The bed was comfier than my own at home! Being pet friendly was a priority and the fact the cottage was surrounded by grass and fields was superb. Will definitely be booking again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2014
Thank you. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and made full use of the surrounding land. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mleinuk
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great cottage, great value!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed at The Old Stable cottage for just one night so we didn't get to experience all the grounds had to offer, but we were extremely satisfied! The finishing on the property isn't immaculate (just little things slightly OCD people like myself notice!) but it was perfect for us. Everything was clean and ready for us when we arrived. Having never rented a cottage we didn't know what was provided so we were happy to find that all the dishes and utensils we needed to cook a meal were provided. It was also really nice that we could walk to Sainsburys (and Homebase, haha). I think there might even be a free bus from the Sainsburys into Whitby, so that's worth checking out.

Only problem was that we couldn't get the wi-fi to work, but we weren't too bothered about that. Might be an issue if you're staying a while and need to check things online.

All in all a wonderful experience, especially for the price and we will definitely be back if we're in Whitby again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location and price
Liked least: Bath towels were a little worn
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. There is a free bus from Sainsburys which goes straight into the centre of town so if you stay with us again, be sure to take advantage. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again, if your ever visiting Whitby in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianeolds
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“location location location”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

what a brilliant place to stay. The location excellent for exploring the region. Being close to shops but far enough away to feel relaxed. The property is lovely. heaps of different accommodation options to choose from. Clean, well appointed and really comfy...The owners have done a fantastic job in restoring the farm and letting people enjoy the experience. Will return with my husband so we can explore the area.
only downfall was couldn't get the wifi to work but not really that big a deal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area it was in
Liked least: small towels for bathroom.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2014
Thank you so much. The new Sainsburys just across the road has helped a lot for the morning newspaper and milk run!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing