We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cairns Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cairns Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Reviewed 28 December 2019 for a stay in December 2019

Date of stay: December 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Judith P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place lovely views”
Reviewed 18 October 2019 for a stay in October 2019
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great stay at Cairns cottage. Everything we needed was there and it had great views of whitby. It was spotless and the info folder had everything we needed. Will definitely book again .
Judith and Archie stonehaven

Date of stay: October 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccarW...
Hednesford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Dump”
Reviewed 10 September 2019 for a stay in September 2019

Please think twice about booking here the best thing about staying here is the view cairns cottage is a dump the sofa is all ripped and so uncomfortable you can feel the springs, the washing machine has got mould in it the carpet is stained and paint is coming off in the shower room the beds on the top floor are really uncomfortable avoid

Date of stay: September 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2019
We are very disappointed to read this review. We did make a point of visiting you the day you arrived to explain we had just become aware of a problem with the sofa being ripped and my husband measured up for a new one. The new sofa is being delivered this week to the cottage - it's a shame you didn't get the benefit from this during your stay.

Re the mattresses in the top bedroom this is the first we have heard of these problems and so we will be going there at the next changeover (this weekend) to check them out and we will be replacing them if they do need replacing.

Decorating and replacing of carpets is an ongoing issue and we have a maintenance week scheduled for later this year where the whole cottage is being decorated and new carpets are being fitted in the New Year. I am sure you will appreciate that, in a holiday cottage, there is significant wear and tear and as owners we are as quick as possible to get on top of issues.

I personally visited the cottage less than 2 weeks ago and feel the description of our cottage as a 'dump' is rude!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2019 for a stay in August 2019

Date of stay: August 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Sep 2019
Hi there - thanks so much for this review and bringing to our attention the issue with the sofa. We have now ordered a new one as a result of your feedback and I apologise that this was not as comfortable as you would (rightly) expect it to be.

Glad you have fabulous weather and were able to get out and about around Whitby!

I will personally be taking a clothes airer over there next week (there was one there earlier this year but, like many other items over time, it seems to have sadly disappeared) - again thanks for bringing this to our attention!

The carpets get shampooed monthly - but as the cottage has now been up and running for 5 years, we have scheduled a week out this winter to have them all replaced and the whole cottage decorated.

We try and keep the cottage to the high standard we expect ourselves when we visit anywhere on holiday so be rest assured we are on to this!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 April 2019 for a stay in April 2019

Date of stay: April 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Sep 2019
Thanks for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your trip to Whitby and your stay in our cottage. Really hope to welcome you back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.