We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cracking place.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Haglathe House

Haglathe House is a beautiful house, on a beautiful street, in a particularly beautiful town.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Haglathe House is a beautiful house, on a beautiful street, in a particularly beautiful town.
Ground floor dining kitchen.  Ideal for spending a sociable night in. Ground floor dining kitchen.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Haglathe House is a beautiful house, on a beautiful street, in a particularly beautiful town.
Ground floor dining kitchen.  Ideal for spending a sociable night in.
Ground floor dining kitchen.
Original range used by Fortune family to smoke kippers.  (For decoration only.)
Staircase leading from kitchen to living room on first floor.
First floor living room with beamed ceiling.
First floor living room with beamed ceiling.
First floor living room leading to back bedroom with twin beds.
First floor front bedroom with double bed and beamed ceilings.
First floor front bedroom with double bed and beamed ceilings.
First floor back bedroom with twin beds and sloping roof.
First Floor Bathroom with Victorian Cast Iron Bath
First Floor Bathroom with Victorian Cast Iron Bath
First Floor Bathroom with Victorian Cast Iron Bath
Spacious top floor en-suite bedroom with king size bed and tv/dvd.
Spacious top floor en-suite bedroom with king size bed and tv/dvd.
Spacious top floor en-suite bedroom with authentic open fire (for decoration only)
Top floor en-suite shower room
Top floor en-suite shower room
View from window of top floor en-suite shower room
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Josie049
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cracking place.”
Reviewed 6 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The owners of Haglathe House were brilliant from our first enquiry, they emailed information about events in Whitby when we were there, to letting us know that we wouldn't have to leave at the regular time as there was no incoming guests, brilliant service!
Haglathe House is wonderful, spacious,warm and welcoming , there is a lovely view from the en-suite bathroom......., it is in located in a fabulous place, a stones throw from the bottom of the 199 Steps, and 2 excellent pubs. We would happily return.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2016
Thanks for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back some time soon. So glad you loved our house as much as we do. It's always our pleasure to help as much as we can because it is important to us that you have a good time and take back positive thoughts of Whitby. Take care.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillynick
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“home from home”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

.everything you could need away from home. lots of room ..we had 2 dogs ,and three adults .
you could of had more people staying if needed. top bedroom has a lovely kingsized bed,and en suite shower room and toilet ,there is a large bathroom on second floor to cater for the other two rooms. good location out of the bustle but close to everything ..the hosts are fab ,,they keep in touch and help you should you need it ,great stay .such a lovely place overall .

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2015
Thanks for that. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. And thanks for leaving the house so neat and tidy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
independe...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great holiday home from home”
Reviewed 14 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Stayed May bank holiday weekend. Haglathe House was very comfortable (4 adults in our party). Well appointed kitchen and lots of cookware/crockery (not that we used it other than mugs & glasses).

Nicely decorated house and comfortable furniture. The attic room is lovely and spacious. The only minor detail for our group was that a shower in the main bathroom would be a useful.

The owners were very helpful & friendly and answered queries quickly. We have already recommended the property to our friends. This is a property that I would definitely be happy to stay in again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and quality of the property
Liked least: No shower in main bathroom (en suite had shower though)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2015
Thank you for your kind words and we'd love to see you again.

Regards

Liz and Denny Harrison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
894
yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, great location.”
Reviewed 3 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Very comfortable cottage, everything we needed, fire an extra bonus in cold winter months, would go again and recommend to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2015
Thanks, Lisa. We'd love to welcome you to our lovely house again and we're happy that you loved it as much as we do. Regards, Liz and Denny Harrison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SQ69
Swinton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything we needed!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Lovely cottage in a great location.
Everything was as we wanted.
All our questions were answered promptly before our arrival by our hosts.
Everything was spotlessly clean.
The gentle aroma from the smokehouse next door wasn't a problem, it added character!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and we're so pleased you liked our house :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$184
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing