We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Could not fault anything”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kauri Cottage

Cottage front and main access - view to communal lawns
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage front and main access - view to communal lawns
View of front of Kauri Cottage front from the River Esk Ground floor well equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
90 reviews
Cottage front and main access - view to communal lawns
View of front of Kauri Cottage front from the River Esk
Ground floor well equipped kitchen
Ground floor well equipped kitchen
Ground floor well equipped kitchen
Dining Room with French doors to outside patio and communal lawns
Dining Room with French doors to outside patio and communal lawns
Dining Room showing aspect of kitchen
Dining Room showing aspect of kitchen
Second Floor Lounge
Second floor lounge with French doors to outside balcony
View from second floor French doors and balcony
View from second floor French doors and balcony
First floor single bedroom
First floor bathroom with shower
Second floor double room
Second floor double room
Second floor double room
Second floor bathroom
Second floor twin room
Second floor twin room
Second floor twin room
Whitby beach walk to Sandsend
The famous St Hilda's Abbey
Whitby at night
Beach Sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 90 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dawn D
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Could not fault anything”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

I never leave reviews as I always feel people have their own views, but I feel I have to leave one for this Cottage. It was absolutely faultless all we needed to take was towels everything else was in the cottage even things I don't have at home. Me and my husband went for our Silver Wedding we just wanted to celebrate on our own away from the hustle and bustle of every day life and it was perfect, yes the floor boards squeak but no big deal and the photos definitely do not do the Cottage justice, 20 minutes walk away from Whitby along the viaduct or 5 minutes drive definitely go again PERFECT!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2013
Many thanks for your kind review and we are delighted that your anniversary break was enjoyed at our Cottage and that everything was to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
floatyshe...
West Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Website/photos don't do it justice!”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

As a group of 5 we stayed at Kauri cottage for a quiet girly getaway weekend. We were surprised at how large the cottage actually is and all the extra little things that are not advertised on the website/page like an ipod dock, board games, dvd collection and coffee maker. There are also tonnes of little things that most cottages don't come with like matches, washing up liquid, even shot glasses!

The cottage was lovely and clean and beautifully furnished including lovely pictures and mirrors etc in all the rooms. It felt really new and freshly refurbished in comparison to lots of other holiday cottages which can feel tired and worn.

There was ample parking and ample furniture even including some nice garden furniture on the patio that we used when having a BBQ one evening.

The only downside was that the floorboards on the middle and top floor were rather creaky which made sneaking round on a morning difficult.

The owners of the cottage were also really helpful in answering any queries we had in the run up to staying very promptly.

Would definitely return if going on a group break!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen/dining area is a very sociable layout
Liked least: Creaky floorboards!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2013
Many thanks Rachel for taking the time to post a review for us. We are delighted you and the girls had a good time and you were happy with the service/amenities we provide.

The floor-boards are on our agenda for next year (they have definitely got worse this last 12 months or so) so hopefully when you return you can potter around at your leisure without disturbing your friends !! Hope to hear from you again in the future.

Kind regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coopsjane
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent modern cottage”
Reviewed 15 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Great weekend break. Cottage had everything that was needed and extremely clean. Easy access to all amenities. The cottage is located in a picturesque setting. Suitable for families or groups of friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped clean cottage
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to do a review on the cottage and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your weekend. I will pass on your very positive comments to our housekeeper too - thank you. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards Julie and Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GET_10
N E Lincs
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place to stay.”
Reviewed 14 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Just returned from a short break in this lovely warm and cosy cottage with my husband, daughter, son-in-law and two year old grandson. We arrived on a very cold Monday afternoon and where delighted with the warm, clean and well equipped cottage. We quickly felt at home and Henry (2) enjoyed running around the green meeting the ducks and watching the steam trains by the river. Ideally placed for Whitby and surrounding area we will certainly be back again, hopefully in warmer weather! Thank you for providing such a welcoming cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, central heating and cleaniness
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us. Glad everything was perfect for you - except the weather !! Hope to see you back at the cottage when the sun is shining so Henry can have even more fun !!

Best regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miffy21
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Chilled to the max”
Reviewed 27 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Just returned from a fabulous weekend at Kauri Cottage spent with hubby and friends. The cottage is in a perfect location just 5 minutes from Whitby by car or a lovely 20 minute walk. The view from the cottage is of an amazing viaduct and a lovely river with ducks busy waddling around. The cottage is well equipped for both long weekends or longer stays and apart from your towels it has everything you would need. Whether you want to just chill or have a walking/cycling break the cottage is perfect. We will definitely be returning and our friends have just booked a week long stay on the back of the weekend break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location. Cleanliness and facilities
Liked least: Nothing it was perfect
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2013
Many thanks Janet for taking the time to do a review for us, we are really pleased that you and your friends enjoyed yourselves.

We have just refurbished the cottage for 2013 and we constantly try to achieve the best possible standards for our guests and we hope we have met all your requirements. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing