We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cuddy Cottage

Cuddy's cosy lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cuddy's cosy lounge
Cuddy's cosy lounge Cuddy's cosy kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Cuddy's cosy lounge
Cuddy's cosy lounge
Cuddy's cosy kitchen
Double bedroom
Cuddy's kitchen
Cuddy's dining area
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Showeroom
Cuddy picture
Goths walking up the 199 steps
View of Whitby Abbey
Bottom of 199 steps
Cobbled street in front of yard
View from entrance yard
Harbour view from  199 steps
Rooftops from 199 steps
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Adam R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful cottage, great location, clean and tastefully decorated. We had a wonderful time. Thank you

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write the review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and hope to welcome you back shortly. We are just getting ready to go over and enjoy the weekend with the Goths.!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Dawn...
1 review
“Lovely stay in Whitby at a very nice cottage.”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The cottage was very nice, clean and very spacious for just me and my husband.

On occasions we could hear the neighbours above the lounge walking about but we weren't in enough for that to be an issue.

The cottage is in a good location and the bed is very comfy, lovely white bedlinen and towels, it had everything you would need for a self catering holiday accommodation.

The only downside of our holiday was the parking it was a nightmare.

Once we were sorted with the parking we had a wonderful holiday and visited many places near to Whitby.

All in all we had a lovely stay at Cuddy Cottage.

Thank you Brian and Elaine.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeborahnR...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 11 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Just arrived back from a long weekend at Cuddy cottage with the family and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cottage is great, its located in a quiet yard at the foot of the abbey steps, very well equipped, spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljt1000
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent family break”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect location for a little family seaside break.
The cottage is set right by all sight seeing activities, beautiful little shops and the sea side so really helped that we didn't have to walk far to anything with having our little girl. We can highly recommend Magpies takeaway fish and chips and sitting on a bench looking at the view.
We thought it was a good idea that there was no wifi at the cottage because it allowed us to put down the gadgets and properly enjoy family time and the sights.
Cottage is very well equipt and very cosy and comfy.
Thanks Cuddy for some lovely family memories I'm sure we'll be seeing you again x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1368
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Be more accurate on description.”
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A well presented cottage but has a few issues, this cottage is definitely not for anyone with walking difficulties, due to amount of stairs and step up shower.
Access hard by car, to drop off your belongings
You either have to be in it very early or late.
Due to a lot of traders and pedestrians
When I arrived there still were people in the property even though I had booked to come in early and emailed owner.
Dogs incessant barking through the night led for a disturbed sleep, no matter how comfy a bed it was.
Also if coming for an event there is next to no wardrobe.
Plus no suitable outside seating as promised.
It was one chair and table and very rusted.
So sadly we couldn't enjoy the good weather.
A well equipped cottage but needs these areas addressing.

I have images of what was provided.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2014
We totally disagree with your comments. This is a Grade II listed cottage over three floors, as stated in the advert, hence the stairs. The cottage is at the bottom of the 199 steps, which has busy surrounding streets. When you arrived much earlier than normally agreed to it was the cleaner in the cottage. The cottage is surrounded by cottages that allows for dogs and a dog barking is totally out of our control. There was a broken chair outside that had been removed and as this was the winter season we did not see the urgency to replace. It is not normally possible to sit outside at this time of the year. It is being replaced for the next season. It is a pity you did not ask any questions before your visit or explained you had walking difficulties as we would almost certainly have deterred you from staying at the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing