We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Raithwaite Estate
Nearby Hotels
Resolution Hotel(Whitby)(Great Value!)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$161
US$157
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Dunsley Hall(Whitby)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,369)
Filter reviews
2,369 results
Traveller rating
1,551
489
221
79
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,551
489
221
79
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrace restaurantspa facilitiespoachers barexecutive roomsteam roomgolf buggyhunters restaurantthe main hotelturn down servicemain hallluxury hotelevery member of staffunderfloor heatingsmall balconybirthday treatfirst classrelaxing break
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 2,369 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had another great stay at this luxury retreat and it made a perfect base for Whitby Goth Weekend. The accommodation is 1st class, as are the staff, the food and the grounds.

A wonderful place to stay and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Estate, Guest Relations Manager at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear P D

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. It was great to welcome you back!

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, and we hope that you had a nice time exploring Whitby during the unique and vibrant Goth Weekend. Our Estate, a couple of miles outside of Whitby, is a perfect base for anyone wanting to explore the historic town and the surrounding area but also desiring somewhere to escape to for a quiet evening meal, or a wander around our pleasant and tranquil grounds.

We certainly look forward to seeing you again soon, and we thank you again for your kind words.

Warmest Regards

The Raithwaite Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited with my mother on the 2 night coastal break offer. The offer includes two night stay, dinner both nights (one meal in each of the two restaurants), breakfast both mornings and access to the spa.

The hotel is visually very appealing. Everywhere looks lovely and clean.

We were staying in the main hall and were given a top floor room which was huge. Bathroom very big also with complimentary toiletries. Only thing missing was heated towel rail.

Spa has a smallish pool but certainly big enough. Hot tub, sauna and steam room also available.

Breakfast both mornings was very good. Continental, full English, eggs Benedict/royal all available. We ate breakfast in the conservatory overlooking the grounds which was very relaxing.

Dinner on the first night was in The Keep which is a different part of the hotel and we were chauffeured down to the other building very promptly. The food in the Hunter Lodge was excellent. Nice sized portions. Drinks very expensive though. 10 pounds for large glass of wine.

Dinner on second night was in the Brasserie which is in the main Hall. This is supposed to be a fine dining experience but we were not as impressed with portions or quality on the second night. Desserts were delicious though. Drinks again were very expensive.

I would definitely return for a luxury break. Worth the money.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Estate, Guest Relations Manager at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Emily M

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.

It is gratifying to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, from being able to relax in our elegant Spa to eating in both of our restaurants - the Hunter's Lodge and Brasserie - each with their own unique menus and character. All of our team proudly ensure that the highest standards are set for service, whether it is making sure the rooms are spotlessly clean, or ensuring that you can enjoy breakfast looking out over our well-tended and maintained gardens.

We also thank you for your comments on aspects of your stay that you felt were not up to standard, and I have passed your constructive and helpful feedback onto the relevant departments.

It is great to hear that you may be returning to us, and we certainly look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest Regards

The Raithwaite Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a fabulous stay at Raithwaite’s Estate this weekend for a Mother & Daughter Spa & afternoon tea 18th birthday celebrations!
The staff were more than accommodating from arrival to departure! Our spa treatments a facial & a full body scrub were fabulous, especially the facial. The dual spa treatment room was great!
Afternoon tea was delightful & such a fabulous ambience & surroundings! Beautiful gardens.
Would highly recommend and we will definitely be back!
The views as you drive into Sandsend are second to none & a lovely walk into Whitby too & just £7 if you want a cab.
We picked a great weekend as it was also the goth weekend in whitby, was great to see the fantastic outfits!
All in all a perfect destination to spend a lovely weekend with lots to do and see!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Estate, Guest Relations Manager at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Lisa B

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.

It is great to read that all of our friendly and attentive staff made your stay as relaxing and comfortable as possible, and that our fantastic Spa attendents took good care of you. We are also glad to see that you enjoyed your afternoon tea, and that you were able to take in our beautiful and well-maintained gardens at the same time.

The view along the coastal road towards Sandsend and Whitby is one of the highlights in the entire county, and with the Goth Weekend we have a vibrant and exciting event unique to the area that is not to be missed.

We hope that we were able to make this 18th birthday a memorable one, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warmest Regards

The Raithwaite Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you visit this magnificent hotel you will be immediately impressed with the service, even before you get to the reception. If for any reason you have the smallest of complaints, expect that just as you are planning to pay your bill at reception, you will find Alejandro Torreccilla at your side to ensure your complaint is dealt with at the top level. Obviously this Hotel Manager has his eyes and ears on every aspect of the hotel. The kind of Hotel Manager you would wish wherever you stayed for one night or a holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Oakgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Estate, Guest Relations Manager at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Oakgreen

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.

At Raithwaite all of our team work hard and proudly endeavour to provide the highest standards of service, to ensure every guest's stay is as relaxing and comfortable as possible. Our Hotel Manager Alejandro's tireless energy embodies our overall approach to ensuring that we maintain our high standards so that we may never become complacent, and I know he was delighted to hear of your kind words towards him.

Warmest Regards

The Raithwaite Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Set in a beautiful estate. Very quiet and secluded. Unusual,for me, there were effectively two separate hotels on this site. There was a little golf buggy to transport guests between the two. Both had its own reception, bar and restaurant which I found odd. We stayed in The Keep. Nice room with a balcony but the balcony was not very private as all the balconies were linked. Food in The Keep was disappointing, limited menu and more like “pub grub”. We were on a spring deal so difficult to change to the other restaurant which I accept but still disappointing. If you stay there be aware of the differences between the restaurants in The Keep and the main hotel building.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raithwaite_Estate, Guest Relations Manager at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Bob B

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. It is great to read that you were able to enjoy our beautiful grounds, and that you were able to relax in the tranquil surroundings of the Estate.

At Raithwaite we have two main buildings, The Hall and The Keep, each with it's own unique character and restaurant. Our guests are free to stay in either building and eat in whichever restaurant they choose, subject to booking and availability. The Brasserie in The Hall offers a unique blend of French/Yorkshire fine dining, whereas the Hunter's Lodge in The Keep offers a more informal dining experience. Each hotel having it's own dining, bar and reception is simply to ensure ease of service for our guests, so that you are never far away from a member of staff who is able to assist you. For ease of access between buildings, our Concierge Team are always happy to drive guests either in our golf buggies or our hotel car.

We thank you again for taking the time to review your stay with us, and we thank you for your helpful and constructive feedback.

Warmest Regards

The Raithwaite Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews