We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Entrance to the cottage looking from the private courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to the cottage looking from the private courtyard
Cosy lounge diner with period beams Ground Floor Double Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Entrance to the cottage looking from the private courtyard
Cosy lounge diner with period beams
Ground Floor Double Bedroom
Attic bedroom with views over West cliff & the whale bones
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bathroom
Patio area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
neilswin
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage ”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Great facilitates more like a hotel than a cottage we had a great couple of days and would stay again. Pets were well catered for and the cottage even had sky TV!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Thank you for your great feedback and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Nook. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markchilc...
1 review
“Perfect, great retreat”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Lovely cottage, quiet location. Very well equipped. Would love to stay again, and will recommend highly.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
Thank you for your great feedback and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Nook. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freyawood...
1 review
“Fantastic cottage in magical surroundings.”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The cottage is perfect, with magical surroundings. It is well equipped and made our stay a little home from home. The cottage is in a wonderful location as there is so much going on all around, so there is always somewhere beautiful to visit. Perfect for the childen and great for adults too with a beautiful little patio to have breakfast or sit out in the evening with a bottle of wine. Highly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2016
Thank you for your great feedback and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Nook. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the near future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCatt64
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Perfect for us!!”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Perfect location very close to the 199 steps. Quaint cottage that perfectly fitted the needs we were after for a break away to Whitby.
A lot of very good restaurants close by which we seemed to not have time to visit all of them in the week we were there.
There was nothing in the cottage that we needed that was not there, DVD, PS2 and Sky were available but were not used as we spent very little time at home.
It was very nice to come back and relax after a day of sightseeing.
Although the property was surrounded by other properties we rarely saw or heard another person.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: not having time to do everything we wanted in the one week
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Thank you for your great feedback and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Nook. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jewt9404
Yorks
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not for me ”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is advertised on its own website as the Nook but isn't listed In TA as the nook - no wonder I couldn't find a TA review - I could only find it when I was actually located in the cottage and it pops up with a different name - odd

Location: handy for all the centre amenities and set in the old fishing cottages - some still have residents living there and some are holiday cottages - it's a great community. Of course with being set in a small and snug area comes the noise factor and we were driven mad by the relentless banging, talking and football being bounced in the courtyards. I appreciate people live here but the noise was way to intrusive and even my 12 year complained and wanted to get out of the cottage
Cottage: oh dear I was disappointed. Damp and musty. This cottage clearly welcomes dogs and that was evident by the dog hairs on the rug. The kitchen was clean but inside the cupboards smelled musty. The bathroom newly refurbed and clean but the bedrooms and living area needs some investment. The beds creaked every time you turned over and the mattresses were shocking - on closer inspection one appeared to have mould spots - I have seen better in a skip they must have been years old. I seriously wanted to home and if I could have found alternative accommodation I would have done. The mattress and bedding in the downstairs room felt cold and damp like the rooms hadn't been aired for years. - it took 24 hours and some serious heating to make it feel dry. There are lots of home fragrance pots that could be for dog smells or the damp. The sound proofing between the cottage upstairs and the cottage I stayed in was non existent so every footstep was heard as clearly as a bell on a hangover morning
I am sure this cottage is to some peoples taste and there were comments from regular visitors in the visitors book who go regularly and refer to it as a home from home (well maybe there's but not mine) -I didn't even unpack my clothes

Thank god for a good heating system (1 star for that and the PS2)
Wifi really really slow so we couldn't wAtch anything on the iPad

Sorry owners but this isn't good enough I note from the right move website everything (even the sheets) is as it was are in 2011 and nothing has been upgraded
I have posted some pictures that shouldn't come as a surprise to you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
We welcome any feedback and are most disappointed with the issues that you had in relation to your stay.

We would like to point out that is a welcome note in the cottage containing information about the cottage and also clearly states that if you are unhappy with anything, to contact us and we will make every effort to rectify any problems. We can not understand why you did not contact us while you were at the cottage?

We do allow pets on occasions and would advise you that no pets were in the cottage with the previous visitor who stayed for 6 nights. The cottage was cleaned thoroughly and we even use large sticky rollers on the carpets and other fabrics to pick up any loose hairs. The cottage was also checked by our housekeeper prior to your visit and there were no damp smells.

In respect of all the linen at the cottage we would like to reassure you and any future visitors that we have replaced the sheets, duvet covers, pillow cases, towels on several occasions since we have taken over ownership of the cottage. The throws, cushions & curtains within the cottage are also regularly laundered. All beds have bed protectors and are laundered on a regular basis.

As with most homes and especially with holiday lettings, it is always good to provide nice smelling sprays or scent straws. This is not to mask any smells, but to provide a clean and fragrant atmosphere when staying in the cottage.

The heating is available at all times as noted in our welcome note and can be used as needed. Most people do not have their heating on in June, if you were cold you could have boosted it or turned up the radiator stats. If you were still cold, there are also oil radiators available in the cottage. Once again, all you had to do was ask.

Since we purchased the cottage in September 2012 we have made a number of improvements, including a major refurbishment of the bathroom,these improvements are ongoing and we are intending to undertake a refurbishment of the kitchen later in the year.

We endeavour to provide as much comfort and facilities to our customers as we are able.
We do not pretend to be a 5 star cottage, something that you will see is reflected in our pricing as against other 4 to 5 star properties which can be double our fees.
We have on the majority of occasions received very good reviews from our visitors, as seen in our guest book at the cottage and also here on trip advisor from the visitors who were in the cottage before you. We also have a large number of regular visitors each year.

Comments have been made in respect of our listing on Trip Advisor, we are very new to this website in fact we have only been on this site for a couple of weeks, so are still making amendments to our listing, as responsible owners of the cottage we do not hide our cottage from unfavourable reviews and have for your reference and any future visitors now made it easier to find as we have amended our listing name to THE NOOK COTTAGE IN THE OLD TOWN OF WHITBY.

Once again we are sorry that you have written such a review and that the cottage was not to your standard. We take all complaints very seriously and will look in to a few of your comments when we next visit shortly.


We welcome any feedback and are most disappointed with the issues that you had in relation to your stay.

We would like to point out that is a welcome note in the cottage containing information about the cottage and also clearly states that if you are unhappy with anything, to contact us and we will make every effort to rectify any problems. We can not understand why you did not contact us while you were at the cottage?

We do allow pets on occasions and would advise you that no pets were in the cottage with the previous visitor who stayed for 6 nights. The cottage was cleaned thoroughly and we even use large sticky rollers on the carpets and other fabrics to pick up any loose hairs. The cottage was also checked by our housekeeper prior to your visit and there were no damp smells.

In respect of all the linen at the cottage we would like to reassure you and any future visitors that we have replaced the sheets, duvet covers, pillow cases, towels on several occasions since we have taken over ownership of the cottage. The throws, cushions & curtains within the cottage are also regularly laundered. All beds have bed protectors and are laundered on a regular basis.

As with most homes and especially with holiday lettings, it is always good to provide nice smelling sprays or scent straws. This is not to mask any smells, but to provide a clean and fragrant atmosphere when staying in the cottage.

The heating is available at all times as noted in our welcome note and can be used as needed. Most people do not have their heating on in June, if you were cold you could have boosted it or turned up the radiator stats. If you were still cold, there are also oil radiators available in the cottage. Once again, all you had to do was ask.

Since we purchased the cottage in September 2012 we have made a number of improvements, including a major refurbishment of the bathroom,these improvements are ongoing and we are intending to undertake a refurbishment of the kitchen later in the year.

We endeavour to provide as much comfort and facilities to our customers as we are able.
We do not pretend to be a 5 star cottage, something that you will see is reflected in our pricing as against other 4 to 5 star properties which can be double our fees.
We have on the majority of occasions received very good reviews from our visitors, as seen in our guest book at the cottage and also here on trip advisor from the visitors who were in the cottage before you. We also have a large number of regular visitors each year.

Comments have been made in respect of our listing on Trip Advisor, we are very new to this website in fact we have only been on this site for a couple of weeks, so are still making amendments to our listing, as responsible owners of the cottage we do not hide our cottage from unfavourable reviews and have for your reference and any future visitors now made it easier to find as we have amended our listing name to THE NOOK COTTAGE IN THE OLD TOWN OF WHITBY.

Once again we are sorry that you have written such a review and that the cottage was not to your standard. We take all complaints very seriously and will look in to a few of your comments when we next visit shortly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing