We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$130
Hotels.comUS$130
PricelineUS$130
Trip.comUS$128
eDreamsUS$117
TravelocityUS$130
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveller rating
220
65
19
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
220
65
19
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden suite city centre safety measures lovely hotel breakfast buffet was good cooked to order minute walk single bed breakfast and evening meal one way system air conditioning unthank road car park the general manager birthday party wedding reception good size
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 315 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2021

Firstly we use this hotel as a bar and restaurant because we live nearby and enjoy their food and conviviality.
We booked our recent wedding reception in the Newmarket room which the staff decorated to our specifications and their attention to detail was exemplary.
The whole day and evening which incuded 2 buffet style meals was a complete success, the staff as always were attentive and made it feel like nothing was a problem also and very importantly chatted with our guests ensuring everyone was enjoying the day.
Some of our party also stayed overnight as did we, and all commented on the cleanliness and decoration of their rooms.
This is a gem of a place wether you just want to have a drink and a meal or stay over, you will not be disappointed.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W2824SMdavida
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie Ashworth, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2021

Thank you so much for writing us such a great review. We are all really pleased everything went exactly to plan ....even the weather, and everybody had a great day. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2021

I stay at Best Western hotels all the time and not many have the well maintained decor of the George. It was so clean and bright and fresh looking. I deliberately chose the smallest cheapest room, but it was still very comfortable and the bathroom was bigger than mine at home.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie Ashworth, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2021

Thank you very much for your review. We are so pleased you found everything to your liking and hope we can welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2021 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at The George Hotel for a romantic break away. The hotel is located just outside the city centre, with parking too. The staff during our stay were lovely and we couldn’t fault them. However, I booked ‘an executive room’ as we wanted a little luxury, but we were very underwhelmed by the room. The ‘queen bed’ it boasted, was actually 2 single beds pushed together.

It was very small, with none of the ‘extras’ it promised, such as bottled water/ hair dryer and toothpaste etc.

The toilet holder was hanging off and the windows were very dirty.

However the bedding and towels were all clean and it was very peaceful there, with blacked out curtains.

The passion fruit martinis in the bar were amazing and the cooked breakfast was hot and tasty.

A lovely hotel, just didn’t feel like we got value for money.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lisylou2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie Ashworth, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2021

Thank you for your review.I'm so sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations regarding the exectutive room and will of course look into why there was no water in your room on your arrival. The hairdryers are located in the dressing table draw, unfortunately they sometimes get taken, so i will ensure the housekeeping team check this hasn't happened again.
The large king sized bed is a zip and link as often we get asked to separate them for those wishing for a twin bedded room Any maintenance issues such as the toilet roll holder will be picked up again by housekeeping and handed over to our ever busy maintenance team to be resolved. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff and we are pleased you loved the cocktails and breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2021

Friendly, well run hotel. Staff super friendly and welcoming. I travelled with my elderly mum and emailed ahead to ask for a ground floor room - hotel responded immediately and accommodated my request.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank jocQ7852IO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie Ashworth, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2021

Many thanks for your excellent review, we are really pleased everything was to your satisfaction and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2021

The 3-day celebration was fantastic. The hotel management team organised the main event. Julie, Ian and Alistair did a wonderful job to make everything go smoothly. Nothing was too much trouble. The kitchen and waiting staff did a fantastic job throughout the weekend providing excellent food on time and when required. All the staff were helpful and flexible. The weekend was a great success some friends enjoyed sightseeing and shopping in Norwich others visited Sheringham and went on a Broads boat trip the George is in a great location. The venue proved to be excellent. The event was held in the suitably decorated Newmarket Suite which was perfect for our 40 guests with space for music and dancing after. The out-door seating area was perfect for meeting and greeting our friends as they arrived or returned from their adventures. The hotel facilities including the bedrooms were clean well maintained and felt Covid safe. There was a temperature check on arrival and hand sanitisers throughout.

Room tip: We stayed in a superior room and had plenty of space.
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwooldPensioners
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie Ashworth, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2021

Thank you so much for your great review. We are really pleased after your long wait to celebrate your special anniversary weekend that it was enjoyed by you and all your friends and family. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not so distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews