We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday dinner with surprise cake from Brasserie”
Review of Darwin Brasserie

Darwin Brasserie
Ranked #1,607 of 25,298 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City of London
Description: Overlooking the Thames on Level 36 of the Sky Garden is Darwin, a lively all-day brasserie, inspired by the very best of British. With a laid-back yet spirited atmosphere, the space is inspired by the surrounding gardens and nature with understated décor which allows the food – and incredible view – to do the talking. Seasonal and delicious ingredients take centre stage in the kitchen whilst creative cocktails are the perfect choice at the bar. Full of the bustling and vibrant energy of a true British Brasserie, enjoy brisk breakfast meets through to working lunches and lively dinners, with a reservation at London’s highest rooftop brasserie.
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

Emily of their staff is lovely and smiley.
Food was great: cornish crab starter woth avocado & grapefruit- amazing! Then we had plaice,french green beans -braised with onion and shallot and chicken kiev: done to perfection,quite hefty portions too. And for desert i had the jivara chocolate with roasted banana icecream: yummy on a cold day.
We had a table overlooking the Thames and a wonderful sunset. Prices are not too high,quite expected for the location,menu and atmosphere. I also has a champagne cocktail ( High in the sky) which was a wee bit too small but still delicious.
Recommend and would return with friends or relatives from outside the UK as it's an unique worthy of London experience.
Booking a tabme grants u the right yo skip the queue to all wanting to see the garden itself-very busy,even on a Monday,at 7 pm.

Thank Gina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhubarb f, Executive Assistant at Darwin Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback, we really appreciate your comments and are thrilled you enjoyed the food and that Emily looked after you so well. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 273 of 3,179 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Loved the entire Sky Garden experience. Great views of central London and the winding River Thames.

We tried the brunch on a Sunday morning. Starters and desserts were on a eat as much as you want buffet basis. The mains were ordered and took 20 minutes to prepare. We had a table for 2 hours which was plenty of time but we took longer here than we thought. The views are just so good.

Starters are amazing fresh and various from salad to fish dishes. We tried sirloin steaks which were delicious.

Service was excellent with friendly and helpful waiters. Special mention to the waiter from Moville, Ireland who made us feel very welcome.

Not the cheapest but has to have one the best dining views in London.

1  Thank Frankie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhubarb f, Executive Assistant at Darwin Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback, we really appreciate your comments and take pride in the the food and service that the Darwin Brasserie team provide. We are delighted that you enjoyed your brunch with us and hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

This was our first visit to the sky garden and we absolutely loved the space and the views. There was a real buzz about the place and we found a great spot with a view over the Tower of London to have a ore- dinner drink. So far so good. We then headed to Darwin’s...will never return. Food was at best average and at wors tasteless and fatty. I had a crab starter and found 2 large pieces of shell in the mixture. Our mains were very disappointing..my potatoe gnocchi was tasteless and hubby chicken Kiev looked like it was dripping in fat. Service was rushed, hectic and disjointed..our waiter brought our mains over while starter dishes still in our table!! With wine our bill came in st £155 for 2! Complete waste of money. Will ever return and would definitely not recommend. Instead go have s drink and enjoy the views but then head elsewhere to eat.

Thank joconn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhubarb f, Executive Assistant at Darwin Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to submit feedback, we value all our guests’ comments as we constantly strive to deliver the best possible service. Please can i kindly ask you to contact the email address restaurants@skygarden.london and a member of our team will be in contact to discuss this further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

We were celebrating my birthday and the ladies at reception were so kind to ensure we had a table by the window - made it very special! Loved the cocktails - so much choice and they were so beautifully presented too. Great service from the friendly staff who wished me a happy birthday.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AnnieAries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhubarb f, Executive Assistant at Darwin Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

We really appreciate your kind feedback and are delighted you had a positive dining experience at Darwin Brasserie and that you especially enjoyed the cocktails. We work tirelessly to ensure ultimate guest satisfaction, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

I dined here before in Nov 15 so am able to to draw a comparison.

We arrived promptly for our table but they weren’t ready. Not a problem particularly but after 10/15 mins we were offered an apology and a drink. We believed this was complementary to apologise for the inconvenience.

In fact this needed up being added to our bill and their drinks’ prices are expensive! We felt a bit cheated because we would not have ordered this round of drinks but for their inability to provide a table on time. Ordinarily we’d have challenged this but as it was a family meal on a special occasion we let it pass.

The food overall was fine. One meal, chicken kiev, was substandard. Small portion and inordinately greasy so we had this replaced.

Service was excellent despite the place being busy. Very busy. Possibly too busy really and we wondered whether they operate an overbooking policy.

On my previous visit, which was also a Friday night, the place had a more serene atmosphere and I think the meal was more competitively priced too. So, a few areas of concern but I will go back again.

1  Thank MaxwellStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhubarb f, Executive Assistant at Darwin Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Thank you for leaving a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to Darwin Brasserie. Thank your raising your concerns about how busy the restaurant was and the pricing this is very helpful for our reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Darwin Brasserie also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Darwin Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing