We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went Twice!”
Review of The Blackfriar

The Blackfriar
Ranked #878 of 24,420 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City of London
Description: A member of the iconic fleet dating back to 1873, Nicholson's offers timeless British pub hospitality. A fine stock of smooth and silky cask ales are pulled at the bar, while homely British classics are served in the dining room. The carefully chosen wine list brings together some great international bottles, while a Cask Ale Club is offered for any true beer aficionados.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The boyfriend and I stumbled upon this place while wandering aimlessly and what a find it was! It's a quaint pub, far more authentic than those you'll find around Big Ben and the like. It has good beer and good food. We enjoyed the fish and chips and the Mac and cheese. The servers seemed a bit overwhelmed but all around a good experience. We ended up here twice in our short visit!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Blackfriar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 1,106 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Walking inside this pub is entering a velnerable institution. The tiling and decoration is original and fascinating. Beer is good. This place does get busy with people after work.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank frankie390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Blackfriar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Frankie390, we're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice historic pub with good selection of craft beers.
A little disappointed about the fish and chips, but the rest of the meals we ate was ok.
The environment looks and feels super.
Well worth the visit.

Thank Stefan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Blackfriar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped by here while I was walking along the Thames after seeing other reviews. It's a beautiful pub inside and out and enjoyed being able to sit outside, even though the weather wasn't that great. The fish and chips, along with the pint, were great. The service was ok, Server seemed annoyed when I asked for condiments, but that didn't dampen my experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KC_in_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Blackfriar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We appreciate all reviews, and appreciate you giving us the chance to improve by providing us with this feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The building is fabulous - from the Blackfriar out front of the oddly shaped building to the stone walls and fabulous wall murals, the atmosphere in the pub is second to none. I ordered the fish and chips and my son ordered a burger. The fish was piping hot and crispy - a little stingy on the tartar sauce. The burger was very good as well. Interestingly, my chips were tastier than the fries that came with the burger. The bar staff were busy but not run off their feet, but didn't seem interested in clearing the previous patron's dishes and crumbs until I specifically asked them to ; once asked they quickly got the job done.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Blackfriar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day! We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blackfriar also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to The Blackfriar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing