We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience London Underground
from US$26.29
More Info
from US$52.58
More Info
from US$78.86
More Info
Reviews (36,881)
Filter reviews
36,881 results
Traveller rating
21,056
10,706
3,482
950
687
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21,056
10,706
3,482
950
687
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an oyster card rush hour tube map transport system oysters contactless card bank card day pass heathrow airport tubes zones tfl platform journey travelcard stops signage
Filter
Updating list...
4,706 - 4,711 of 36,881 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2018

we were afraid to use the TFL but finally it was so easy for us to get our oyster card with the machine and to move with the "pay as you go" during our five days, to top it up and be refunded at the end of our stay
it's easy to follow their plans and useful maps and so good not to have to change money using the tube or coaches or boats on the thames river
great transport in london and cheap "cap day" after around 7 pounds it's free ....
thank you tripadvisor london forum for the tips

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank globetroter04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018

London has one of the best underground systems for people to get around. It's lines are easy to follow, the stations and cars are clean, and the people are civil without the pushing and shoving that often we experience in our US metro. Lots of stops and you can use your pass for buses too which are also convenient, easy to ride and follow.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Loren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Look this is the Underground that started it all. Londoners have done a fantastic job keeping this easy to get around for all us visitors regardless of language barriers. Don't be afraid to use it. They have great informative maps and there is always personnel to help you navigate your way through. I love the Tube and take it everywhere I go. It connects to trains and bus stations making getting around a breeze. VERY afforable. Just be cautious as some of the ticket machines only take credit cards so make sure you activate yours before you leave.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Spary09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

From where we live, public transportation is hit or miss. Plus, it could take several minutes to hours to when the next train, subway, and/or trolley comes. The underground was very impressive in the frequency it came. It's something that many might take for granted but knowing and experiencing different places of public transportation, the underground works really well.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Chillaxin71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

The Underground is a very efficient way to travel. There are well marked stations most places that you would want to be. The map is easy to follow and the trains and platforms are clearly marked in the stations.
The Oyster Card allows you to prepay for rail service and will max out at a certain amount every day. We were able to buy a card for a £5 deposit and then put £25 on it. It got us every where we needed to go for three day. While in Paris we bought a tourist pass for €131 for four days. You can go to any information center and they will help you with it. Best purchase I made in London!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Diverdown12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews