We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Worth It!”
Review of London Underground

London Underground
Ranked #18 of 1,872 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: London Underground, better known as the Tube, has 11 lines covering 402km and serving 270 stations. Opened in 1863, it is the world's oldest underground railway network, and one of the largest.
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

I always purchase an Oyster travel card for underground travel. A real bargain if you use it at all. London Underground is so easy to use; people are orderly; signs everywhere making it a no brainer. Highly recommend to see London.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank helpfultraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35,930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"oyster card"
in 2,997 reviews
"rush hour"
in 995 reviews
"transport system"
in 336 reviews
"tube map"
in 501 reviews
"oysters"
in 1,349 reviews
"contactless card"
in 259 reviews
"bank card"
in 237 reviews
"day pass"
in 412 reviews
"heathrow airport"
in 259 reviews
"zones"
in 645 reviews
"tubes"
in 763 reviews
"journey"
in 1,112 reviews
"tfl"
in 360 reviews
"platform"
in 1,010 reviews
"travelcard"
in 242 reviews
"stops"
in 716 reviews
"signage"
in 407 reviews
Filter

4,132 - 4,136 of 35,931 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

Very easy to use, directions to platforms clear and usually no schedule problems (sometimes trains are delayed or services stopped but for reasons out of their control).
Best way to move around London if in a hurry, always felt safe too, and clean enough given the volume of people it transports each day.
Not sure about rush hour, it's been a long time since my last commute on the underground (I recall it being very busy but it was expected).
A credit to TfL.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank S_A_Wills09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

We were trying to get to Parliment which took an hour by cab. On our way back to the hotel we decided why not the tube. 10 minutes and done. Try it it’s worth the ride and time!

Date of experience: May 2018
2  Thank cszostak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

We bought an Oyster card & used it all the time. The tube is so easy to use. Every line has it’s own color as well as maps at each station saying where it goes. We did download the tube app onto our iPhones & upgraded it. It was awesome . Just type in where you are & where you want go & it brings up fastest trains to take & which car to get in so you get off at closest exit. A must have. At end of trip just refund at any station. So simple!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Blintzbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Was very surprised at how easy the underground is to navigate. In New York we get lost several times but the signage is very helpful here and used it a lot

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank MelodyTher5370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed London Underground also viewed

 

Been to London Underground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing