We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$440
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/10/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$396
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/10/21
Agoda.com
US$337
View deal
Hotels.comUS$396
Trip.comUS$385
CheapTicketsUS$396
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
149
26
6
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
149
26
6
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brompton road garden suite victoria and albert museum stylish boutique hotel friendly concierge quiet neighborhood wonderful stay walking distance superior room beautiful room wonderful hotel business trip underground station night stay harrods townhouse hyatt
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2021

We had a two night "staycation" in Room 404, a Deluxe room on the top floor overlooking the gardens.

Although we arrived very early to drop our bags off before going to lunch our room was ready and we were given a friendly greeting and a drink while we checked in.

The hotel was designed by Anouska Hempel and greys and mirrors feature strongly! The room was based on mirrored furniture and grey walls with a comfortable bed and adequate storage space. The walls were adorned everywhere with prints of leaves and plants adding to the effect and the floor was wooden.

Perhaps the plugs were at a lower level than ideal. Less common now is a fully stocked mini-bar but prices were somewhat steep and we avoided it, the only criticism was that on arrival there was neither a coffee machine or kettle in the room (which there was supposed to have been) but this was put right when we queried it - coffess were not replenished though although all the towels and linens were changed.

The bathroom is bright, albeit with no external windows, in light beige with a ceiling shower within the large bath and a separate hand shower.

Our room included breakfast taken in the lovely dining area overlooking the gardens, the continental breakfast was excellent with a large choice and the cooked options very nice. Service in the breakfast room was excellent and service is the watchword all over the hotel, Very friendly staff and a lovely relaxing place to stay.

For Knightsbridge and Kensington attractions The Franklin is an ideal base and one we would certianly recommend.

Room tip: All rooms are different, garden views nicer.
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mfranks911
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishaal Eid, Other at The Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear mfranks911,
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in 404 and that you found the service to be excellent throughout the hotel. I have taken all your comments into account and we will be placing coffee machines in all rooms. We hope to see you back again soon.
Best regards,
Mishaal Eid
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2021

From the moment we arrived to this beautiful hotel, we were treated to the best customer service. All staff were attentive and hospitable throughout and a special mention to Alex who had only just started in this new role, but was super friendly and professional. Continental breakfast was delicious with great variety of both savoury and sweet options. Bedrooms were beautiful and the communal areas stylish and glamorous. The bar area is stunning and we sampled two fabulous cocktails before going out to dinner. All in all a perfect stay, thank you so much! We will return! xx

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishaal Eid, Other at The Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2021

Dear jackie p,

Thank you for the wonderful review. I’m delighted that Alex has left an impression in his first few days, and I happy that you liked the hotel. We look forward to having you with us again.

Best regards,

Mishaal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2021

We had not booked into this hotel, but a sister hotel. Due to low footfall in London the hotel chain is moving people to one venue. This makes perfect sense. Our room was fabulous, with a lovely bottle of bubbles on arrival. Every member of staff made us feel welcome and genuinely interested in our visit. Wonderful stay in London.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kdm1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishaal Eid, Other at The Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2021

Dear kdm1967,

It is nice to see that guests from our sister hotels are enjoying their stay at The Franklin. It was a pleasure looking after you and we hope to see you back soon at one of our Starhotels.

Best regards from the team at The Franklin!

Mishaal Eid
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2021

My wife and I travelled to London for our 9th wedding anniversary and we chose to stay near Knightsbridge to do a little light shopping. We were recommended the Franklin by some friends who had stayed there pre Covid so we booked for 1 night, this is all we could manage to get away from work and our children and would have stayed longer if we could have!!
Location is perfect if you want to shop as it is located 5 minutes walk from Harrods and Harvey Nichols. There is a clear Middle Eastern/Moroccan influence here in a subtle, trendy way.
This hotel is a beautiful hotel so it is very condensed but very well laid out. Check in was very easy and informal and we were shown to our room within 5 minutes of arriving. Our room was on the fourth floor and it was perfect, very quiet, clean and just what we wanted. The bathroom was lovely with a large bath, overhead shower and all complimentary accessories you need. The bed was huge and the cotton sheets, duvet and enormous pillows were very welcoming!!!! Breakfast was not included in our package so we chose the breakfast package on arrival and my wife and I chose the full breakfast option (£25 per head) as opposed to the continental (£16 per head). Firstly we had a wonderful array of breads, hams, salmon and cakes along with our coffee and freshly squeezed juices. Then our main breakfast arrived which we chose from the menu, my wife had the poached eggs on avocado and I had the skillet with eggs and tomatoes, delicious. !

Date of stay: July 2021
Thank Brighthelmstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishaal Eid, Guest Services / Front Office at The Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2021

Dear Brighthelmstone,

Thank you very much for your review. It is great to know that you chose our hotel through a recommendation of a friend, and I am delighted that you loved the hotel and location. The hotel design by Anouska Hempel does indeed echoes influences of Morocco and Italy, inspired from her travels.
Best regards from all of us, and we hope to have you staying with us again soon.

Mishaal Eid
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2021 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for one night at The Franklin for a short city break.
We were greeted by the exceptionally friendly team (Joanne and Christian were both so welcoming) with a hot drink while we checked in, before being shown to our room.
The room was beautifully decorated with the contemporary art deco style which is present throughout the whole hotel.
We had a drink and snack in the hotel bar - worth a visit for the decor alone - which was also very good.
Throughout our stay we were treated as friends not just guests, with each team member so attentive and friendly. They remembered our names every time we spoke to them which was a really nice touch.
I couldn’t recommend The Franklin highly enough and we will certainly be back for a visit again soon.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Holly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishaal Eid, Guest Services / Front Office at The Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2021

Dear Holly C,

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you loved the hotel and it’s décor. Joan and Christian were very happy to read your review, and we all look forward to having you staying with us again.

Mishaal Eid
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews