We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 AM - 7:30 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Global City Experience
from US$22.45
More Info
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
84
8
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
84
8
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2021

This was a fantastic tour undertaken by a very knowledgable guide. We learnt a lot about the history of Liverpool right through from it's village beginnings to it's commercial heyday. John, our guide, really gave us the context to appreciate the city and notice all the revealing and intricate architectual details. Our children, aged 11 and 13, were entertained throughout. We're now off to find all the remaining Liver birds.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 August 2021

A well thought out tour skilfully delivered by John, an enthusiastic history graduate. He started with a potted history of Liverpool from it's early beginnings describing how the docks were developed and expanded as trade increased. This set the context perfectly for the various landmarks we visited. A fascinating tour we both greatly enjoyed. Plenty of opportunity for questions. John's delivery was impressively fluent, and he was easy to hear regardless of ambient noise levels. Thoroughly recommended.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank eyesore9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 August 2021 via mobile

This was a very enjoyable way to spend a few hours and get some exercise. John, our guide, is a history graduate writing a PhD who clearly knows and loves Liverpool and it’s (maritime) history. He is also a very personable guide. Would thoroughly recommend to anyone interested in the City and its history.

Thank Philip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 August 2021

Great history tour around the central area of the city, including the main historical landmarks. Focus of the tour is on the development through trade and the docks of the city.

Our guide, John, was extremely knowledgeable and professional throughout, gave plenty of opportunities for questions and was responsive the interests of attendees. The tour lasted just over two hours which was the right amount of time for us. We'd recommend for anyone wanting the background of the city and deeper knowledge.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Washing_Machine79
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 August 2021

This was a real highlight of our trip to Liverpool. John was an excellent host, so incredibly knowledgeable about the city and its history. He shared so much information, but it didn't feel too much - the pacing of the tour was just right.

I would thoroughly recommend taking this trip - you will learn a lot and see things you would never have seen.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Scoobysu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews