We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great Experience

I do like the modern look & layout of the museum. I was fortunate to view the John Lennon & Yoko... read more

Reviewed yesterday
RickFun35
,
Singapore, Singapore
via mobile
Excellent Insight into Liverpool's past

I loved this museum and was very impressed with the layout and the careful thought that had gone... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Annie_in_Chania
,
Chania Town, Greece
Read all 6,285 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Liverpool
from US$18.00
More Info
from US$25.70
More Info
from US$21.20
More Info
from US$21.74
More Info
Reviews (6,285)
Filter reviews
6,285 results
Traveller rating
3,998
1,728
410
103
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,998
1,728
410
103
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overhead railway top floor all ages three floors modern building well worth a visit free entry interactive exhibits couple of hours ono few hours rainy day john lennon great city pier head albert dock great place to visit
Filter
Updating list...
610 - 615 of 6,285 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018

You visit museums to gain a better understanding of the history of places or things.

Museums generally work hard to present some balance in their interpretation of historical events. This museum hasn't quiet grasped that concept and on just so many displays a political or factual bias has been introduced. It isn't subtle - it is quiet pronounced to the point where it impinges on the experience.

When the topic moved away from these sub themes I found the museum interesting and enjoyable.

By all means visit this museum, but understand that the curators may not be presenting a balanced view.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Geddes_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

We were very fortunate to get to see the exhibition of the Terracotta Warriors what a fantastic show, so glad I got to experience it, it’s on to October , please book online as I know it can get quite busy.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank marykR2629HJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

The museum has 4 main zones on different aspects of Liverpool, plus other thematic exhibitions, spread over three floors. One of the main highlights is the stunning view of the Pier Head (the waterfront) from the enormous sloping wondow on the first floor! The exhibitions are attractively and interestingly presented - lots of supplementary audio-visual items - and are all very accessible. There appears to be a lot of stuff aimed at kids too. There is a pleasant café with a large seating area on the ground floor serving good, reasonably-priced snacks and light meals.
As a born and bred Scouser this was my first visit to the museum and I learned a great deal about my home city. I would encourage anyone with a few hours to spare, wherever they hail from, to visit this great museum.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank derekfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

We went to Liverpool for a concert and a Beatle's Tour and then decided to visit The Museum of Liverpool. What a wonderful museum! We were captivated with the Museum's exhibit on the history of this amazing city.The exhibit showed Liverpool's history, culture and was not afraid of discussing its high points and its lows. No visit to Liverpool would be complete without visiting The Museum of Liverpool. We were also happily surprised to find a well developed exhibit of Liverpool's LGBTQ community. The museum is free but well worth donation. Loved it! This is definitely well worth a visit. Allow sufficient time (2-3 hours) to explore this wonderful museum.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Irish_Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Something a little different when it comes to museums architecture wise its quite cool to look at at out of through its giant windows over looking the river Mersey, and crammed with all the usual things you would expect of a museum, kids love it as it's a quirky building to roam around

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank patrick e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews