We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace and Quiet”
other travellers have booked this property
The cottage in autumn with smoking chimney
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage in autumn with smoking chimney
Summer view from cottage towards the lodge Cottage in autumn viewed from the grounds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The cottage in autumn with smoking chimney
Summer view from cottage towards the lodge
Cottage in autumn viewed from the grounds
Sitting area and Stovax Brunel stove
Kitchen area
Double bedroom with 4 feet wide bed
Corridor bedroom, which is between the main bedroom and the sitting area
Shower room
Floor plan
Autumn view of the famous avenue of oaks leading to Burton Hall
View from corridor bedroom towards Burton Park
Cottage in October 2014 at apple picking time
Winter view of the cottage in snow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Lincoln, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anne G
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Peace and Quiet”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I came to The Cottage to be near my son who was working in Lincoln. The cottage is perfectly situated to explore Lincoln (8mins car drive away), Hemswell Antique Centres (30 mins away),Doddington Hall and Gardens (20mins away),Gainsborough Old Hall (30mins away). A little further afield is the fabulous Belton Hall.
Peter was tending his bee hives when I arrived, and after a short hand over I was left to enjoy this small very pretty cottage. There were vases with garden flowers to enjoy, fresh mixed herbs in a jug in the kitchen, some food in the fridge and best of all a pot of the bees honey!
I didn't need to ask Peter for anything, but I know that he would have been really helpful.
It was lovely to wake to the sound of birds. The resident pheasant couple and partridges were fun to watch.
The best bit was the tranquility....just hearing birds and wind in the trees.
The cottage was spotless, the kitchen well equipped, the shower a good size really wetting! I didnt try to stream anything on the wi-fi, but I had no problems dealing with E-mails, Facebook and uploading my Journal to Blipfoto.
I canot recommend this cottage enough. Really the only criticism I can possibly make is that the double bed is a tight 4'6"- so if you are very tall and of a bigger build it leads to a cosy nights sleep!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and tranquility so close to a main city
Liked least: Nothing (well maybe the small bed!!)
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracgord
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect and peaceful cottage.”
Reviewed 12 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We wanted peace, quiet and relaxation and that is what we got. The cottage had everything we needed, the wood burner was lovely on a chilly March evening. Peter was a wonderful host. We took our greyhound and there were some lovely walks through the country side. Would love to visit again. Oh and the honey was delicious!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandTour...
1 review
“A lovely cosy cottage ”
Reviewed 8 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We had a lovely cosy november short break in this cottage. Clean and fully equipped. The owners have put a lot of thought into extra little details to help make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Log burner was lovely to have on in the evening to cosy up with. Owners very helpful and accomodating. Their honey is delicious and a must try. Set in lovely countryside a short drive from lincoln and burton water marina. Hope to return again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely country setting yet only minutes form the city centre”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This is a lovely cottage set in the beautiful countryside yet close enough to the town centre to make it a good base to explore Lincoln and the surrounding villages from. The cottage is very clean and well well equipped and the hosts most welcoming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing