We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing, comfortable and wonderful”

Review of Bardney Lockhouse

Welcome to Bardney Lockhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Bardney Lockhouse
Approaching the Lockhouse An original 17th Century lockkeepers cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Welcome to Bardney Lockhouse
Approaching the Lockhouse
An original 17th Century lockkeepers cottage
With beautiful views across the Lincolnshire Fenlands
Situated right next to the Lock, this is the actual Lock House
Great views
Great views from the bedrooms
Jack 'n' Jill bathroom with under-floor heating
Bedroom 1 with views of the River Witham
Lady of the house
Bedroom 2, with views of the Fens
All the home comforts
Home from home
Downstairs shower room
Our lockhouse is ideal, whatever the weather!
Dining kitchen with views over the garden
A house filled with love, is a happy home
Comfortable lounge
Wood burning stove for cosy nights in
Lounge, overlooking the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Lincoln, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ddmartin2...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing, comfortable and wonderful”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Stayed at this wonderful house and loved every minute of my stay. The views are amazing and the sunsets spectacular. Having the opportunity to see the lock in action was an unexpected surprise.

I'm not sure that the gentleman who put the negative review was staying at the same place. Tv reception was great, the beds had quality linen and I found nothing to complain about

Seeing the wildlife including a Robin Redbreast made my stay even more amazing. Will definitely stay next time I'm over from Australia.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
unclebass...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bardney lock cottage has been a dream come true!”
Reviewed 10 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

It is quintisentially English, and is completely brilliant. All rooms are tastefully decorated, and you have all the modern conveniences you could ever want. Even including a dishwasher. All rooms are tastefully and thoughtfully decorated, and very light and airy. The welcome basket is an extremely thoughtful gesture with many useful items. You are not wanting for comfort, and you just cannot beat the cozy heat from a wood burner, which allows you to feel toasty warm. Very roomy, and not enclosed with low ceilings. No creaky floorboards. Double glazing really limits the sound outside, not that there is any. Sensational indoors or out, there is something for everyone, including many outdoor facilities. The history of the lock, cottage and surrounding areas is a rascinating insight, and well worth reading. And what about being pet friendly? We were raptous just spending days alone in the cottage. The surrounding areas have all you could want too, like walks, rides, beautiful scenery/wildlife, and the lock of course. The passing barges/boats through the lock are a very special sight, and they pass just yards (or metres) from your open door, means you can be enveloped in the experience, while still being in the warmth of your cottage (if you want to of course). We were delirious seeing it from all angles outside. The views from both bedroom windows upstairs is also wonderful. Even got a lovely sunset. The nearby town offers a plethera of amenities. For the fitter ones, you could even walk there. We wish we could have spent a Christmas there; it would have been terrific.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the overall lock cottage experience was well worth it
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnlo...
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed 7 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Booked this property for 4 consecutive weeks in April/May 2016 & regretted rushing into it as it was very poor value for our money . Overall it was kitted out on the cheap , just about everywhere you looked it was cheaper items , not good for long term rental .
The favourable reviews were for short term rental , single week or long weekends ; fair enough really , hope they all enjoyed themselves .
The ironing board had been broken sometime late 2015 and never replaced , however 1 phone call and a new one was delivered .
Sometime the old television was replaced by a 'Logik' from a large electrical retailer . Not very good quality and sat on a shelf with poor reception . To be honest I have a computer monitor that is bigger .
The lane up from the main road was in a shocking condition but this is nothing to do with this property as it is the 'Canal and River Trust' that should be responsible for its upkeep (I think) . Thought that should be mentioned especially for those with rental cars !
To sum up our £2000 was a very large amount to pay out for this property .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: wood burner , downstairs shower , quality microwave .
Liked least: small tv with bad reception , inefficient dishwasher .
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2016
Dear John and Christina - I was surprised and saddened when I read the review about your recent stay.
Surprised because, apart from the ironing board, which as you say was rectified immediately, you didn't let me know of your dissatisfaction at any time during your stay.
Saddened because it's always my aim to have guests take away with them happy memories of their stay. I achieved that with every other guest as their reviews show (5* without exception). I obviously sadly failed in that for you .
Jeannette Dawson
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogerExpo
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A peaceful oasis away from the intensity of urban life.”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

It takes a few minutes to access the property from the nearest road, along a field track but we were rewarded with sightings of rabbits, a heron, a pair of harriers and last but not least, a barn owl landing on the edge of a dyke to consume it's prey. A variety of boats negotiate the adjacent lock and a cycleway/walkway along an old railway line takes you to Bardney where The Nags Head offers reasonably priced good quality food. The coast is not too far away and we enjoyed a wonderful afternoon in a beach hut at Chapel Point. The Lock House is very clean and comfortable and provides a relaxing environment for a break from work routines. On a clear night, a myriad of stars are visible overhead due to the distance of the property from any urban glow.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness and solitude
Liked least: No instructions for the DVD that did not work but our young daughter managed well without it.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mccaffrey...
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant weekend retreat”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The most relaxing weekend getaway,, had the best bank holiday weekend here just returned after 3 nights and absolutely loved every minute.
The lock and all the boats coming through was very interesting to watch and everyone who passed by was so friendly.
The cottage itself was spotless and beautiful throughout all the finer details really made it, we had some friends come stay with us on the Sunday eve and they to thought it was lovely, we will definitely return and recommend to friends and family,, Thank you so much to Jeanette and Michelle

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quiet
Liked least: the rain
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing