We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,046)
Filter reviews
2,047 results
Traveller rating
1,175
523
208
94
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,175
523
208
94
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue smoke leisure club lake view leisure facilities busy road hot tub building work main restaurant lake district lovely hotel steam room wedding venue from start to finish lots of choice high standard night break lounge area
Filter
Updating list...
428 - 433 of 2,047 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

We returned to Low Wood Bay, having stopped overnight a few years ago.

We booked a Classic room for 3 nights (in the new build outside of the main hotel building) on a room rate that included breakfast for 3 days and dinner for 2 nights.

On arrival to our room we found a box of truffles and card welcoming us back - a really nice touch. The dog had a little bed area put down for him next to the couch, which had some treats and a towel (he found the treats before we did!) as well as some info on dog-friendly walks in the area, and some great room signs to let staff know if the dog would be comfortable with them entering the room or not (as long as you're on site the dog can stay in the room unattended).

The room temperature is pretty hot. There are fans available from reception if needed.

Don't be put off by the fact rooms are dog-friendly. They really are spotlessly clean and immaculate!

The food is delicious. Breakfast has a good selection of hot and cold buffet, plus additional items that can be ordered too.

Evening meals in the restaurant are also excellent. We tried between us (over 3 nights): starters- salad, goats cheese, duck croquettes, soup, salmon; mains- lamb shank, pork belly, salmon curry, spinach & chickpea potato cake, haddock; desserts- creme brûlée, cheesecake, cheeseboard, sticky toffee pudding, fruit crumble)- all of them delicious! Couldn't fault anything. Service was friendly and efficient and personable.

There is a bar area that also serves food & drinks if you want to keep your dog with you while you eat.

Only slight concern with the hotel is the busy road that runs opposite the entrance. Exiting the car park can take a while and be quite challenging when there is a lot of fast flowing traffic going past. Also crossing from the hotel to the marina is a bit hairy for the same reasons.

Other than that, the location is good - a short walk/drive/ferry crossing to Ambleside with lovely walks at White Moss. Great location for visiting the rest of the Lakes area.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Rastamouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rea H, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2016

Dear Rastamouse, Thank you for your lovely informative review following your return stay. It is always a pleasure to welcome guests back to the hotel, especially our four-legged friends! I will ensure your rewarding comments regarding your dining experiences are passed on to Chef and his Brigade - thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future. Kind regards, Rea Howell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Thank you so much to everyone at the Low Wood Bay for making our wedding on 9th July 2016 such a wonderful and amazing day.  It’s difficult to put into words how special our day was for us but we’ll try.  Right from our first visit it became clear that the staff at the Low Wood go that extra mile to provide a professional and personal service with such attention to detail. This and the beautiful hotel situated right on the lake with it’s own jetty making a boat trip possible, were the main reasons for choosing the Low Wood Bay as our wedding venue after looking at a number of hotels in the Lake District.  In addition, the wedding package was extremely good with lots of little extras included such as table floral arrangements, a wedding cake, name and menu cards, a table planner and a complimentary bridal suite for the evening of the wedding and first anniversary. 

The hotel itself is stunning and The Gallery with it’s beautiful chandeliers and view over the lake was the perfect place to hold our wedding ceremony.  We had both our wedding breakfast and evening reception in the function rooms adjacent to The Gallery which was perfect and provided plenty of room and a private bar for our guests.  So many guests commented on the beautiful sparkling afternoon tea served at our wedding breakfast and the repeated ‘top ups’ of prosecco that continued throughout the meal!  The homemade pie and peas served during the evening were just as delicious.

Huge thanks go to Gemma who was our expert wedding manager and looked after us prior to and on our big day, Filip our Master of Ceremonies and also the member of staff who was in charge at our evening reception who helped carry our cards and presents though to our room at 1am in the morning!  We really can’t thank you enough and are so looking forward to returning on our anniversary :-)

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnneChap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rea H, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Dear AnneChap1, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a rewarding review of your wedding in July. It is an honour to play host to a special occasion and we are delighted that you along with your family and friends enjoyed such a wonderful day. We are very proud of our team and it is lovely to be able to pass comments such as yours on to them, especially Gemma and Filip. We look forward to welcoming you both back to the hotel to celebrate your first anniversary, if not before! Kind regards, Rea Howell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We were guests at a friends wedding this weekend at Low Wood Bay hotel...what a fantastic venue for their perfect day. The location is amazing overlooking the lake. The hotel is lovely and staff very friendly and attentive. Our room (161) had a fantastic lake view. Everything was spotless, the only fault I could possibly mention is that the hair dryer in the room wasn't very good ( take your own!). The breakfast was first class loads of choices. All in all a brilliant weekend and we will return.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a Lake view (161 was lovely)
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rea H, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Dear Michelle W, Thank you for leaving a review after your stay this weekend. It is always a pleasure to host a family occasion such as a wedding and we are delighted that you had such a perfect celebration as guests. Thank you for letting us know about the hairdryer, we will have a member of our maintenance team take a look at it. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Kind regards, Rea Howell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Highly recommended. Located a safe 15 minute walk from Ambleside. Food delicious along with excellent service. Well equipped leisure club. Plenty of parking. Nice rooms - even the so-called economy rooms. Staff fantastic throughout. Good walks directly from hotel. Nothing negative to say other than thin walls separating some rooms!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank IaninBourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rea H, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Dear IaninBourne, Thank you for taking the time to review your break with us. I have ensured that your rewarding comments have been passed on to our team, whom we are very proud of. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again when in the area. Kind regards, Rea Howell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

We stayed in a Lake View room which had a lovely feature room - a 4 poster bed and a lovely corner sunken bath so very romantic for the 2 of us. We used the bath twice a day as it was so nice and huge. - of us plus a good shower .Lots of lovely toiletries which you can purchase if you want to. Got a good rate as I did this on the telephone a few months before. On arrival we had a small box of chocolates plus a card which was sweet on our bed. A great flat screen \TV which worked well so good for the evenings .We stayed for 2 nights.The room was really clean and a big thank you to the staff plus the cleaner who I mentioned It was our wedding anniversary - the management after our walk to Bowness left us a anniversary balloon and another box of chocs!! then a bottle of Prosecco on the house. So kind. Super views over the lake

All the pro factors.
1.Fab food - we had excellent room service - not too pricey as we wanted to enjoy our room and the sunken bath. The breakfast menu was super - a buffet menu but you can order other dishes .I tried out the Vegetarian sausages which were lovely.
2.Good parking facilities at the back of the hotel.
3.Great swimming pool and hot tub - a outside hot tub - the leisure club opens at 6.30 and provides towels plus there is a gym but I didn't use it !! as I was on a relaxing holiday.
4.The area - We were lucky to have such good weather so walked to Bowness/Windermere only took us 55 mins .A taxi back to the hotel was £10 so not a lot more than the bus the hotel can give you the taxi no.Some lovely china shops there and a must to visit is the Hole in the Wall which was frequented by Charles Dickens and is the oldest pub in Bowness - super food and good draught Ales.
5.Super helpful staff and friendly.

We would certainly stay here again having been before but missed the Café del Largo as you could get made to order ready made Pizzas to take up to your room or have a snack and a drink watching the lovely view outside of the lake.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but the Lake view rooms are brillint
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank monketteDouglasIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rea H, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Dear monketteDouglasIOM, Thank you for taking the time to review your anniversary break here at Low Wood Bay. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed one of our Feature Lake View Bedrooms and made good use of our leisure facilities whilst here. We hope to welcome you both back to the hotel in the future for a relaxing break. Kind regards, Rea Howell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews