We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Nook was a great place to stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
Nook Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nook Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Nook Garden
Front Gardens
Front Gardens
Nook Garden
Nook Kitchen
Nook Kitchen
Nook Bedroom
Nook
Nook
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nia W
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Nook was a great place to stay!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the Nook for a week - a fantastic little cottage, yet plenty of room with everything we needed.
The Nook was both clean and comfortable, and was a lovely cosy place to come back to after a busy day. It was well presented and felt homely.
The convenience of the dishwasher was also appreciated!!
An ideal location for exploring. It was just a short walk to the lake or up to the town where there were good cafes and restaurants. It was also a good base for exploring beyond Windermere.
Mick and Wendy made us feel very welcome here and were helpful with their recommendations.
There is no doubt that we would stay here again on our next visit to the lakes!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbiBond
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cosy stay despite the weather!”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a lovely 5 day stay at the Nook. It has everything we could have needed for a short stay. The accommodation is really nicely decorated and is well equipped and very clean. It is perfectly located for walking into both Windermere and Bowness where there are several lovely pubs and restaurants. Hopefully next time we come up the rain will have subsided a little so we can explore the lakes some more! Thanks again Mick and Wendy!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2014
We are sorry about the weather too! you take your chances this time of year. Thank you for your comments you are very welcome and we look forward to your next visit there is plenty to explore and we shall organise some Sun shine. Wendy & Mick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HariboFis...
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ivythwaite : The Nook - Brilliant Hideaway”
Reviewed 23 January 2014 for a stay in October 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Super cosy well appointed cottage. Everything you need, like a home from home! Mick and Wendy are friendly and helpful. Mountain bike storage much appreciated! Easy walking distance to either Bowness or Windermere. Pubs and food not far away at all but The Nook is far enough away from the main road to be peaceful and quiet. Parking right outside the door too!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Arriving
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helenrwat...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thoughtful, personal touches.”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Clean, well maintained and welcoming; The Cranny is a real home away from home! The owners are extremely friendly and helpful, right from the initial email contact and this continued throughout our stay.
We stayed with our 4yr old son who is disabled and a wheelchair user. While the property is not necessarily accessible, the steps were shallow and wide so we were able to manage. I don't know if this would be possible if you are self propelling. The bathroom is not accessible but again we were able to manage because our son is small.
The bedroom is a good size and the child bed was placed snugly in the alcove making it a lovely little den type place that any child would be happy to crawl into. All the bedding was crisp and clean with plenty pillows and extra blankets.
Before our arrival I emailed to request a welcome hamper. The owner responded, very quickly, to say I just had to name our budget and the types of things we would like. Not only was everything ready and waiting when we arrived but there was local produce where possible and even a jar of home made jam (which alone was worth the journey!)
We had a thoroughly lovely time and are already planning a return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was very clean and cosy.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil N
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Nook which one of the self catering flats attached to the main house.

We were greeted by the owner Mick when we got there and he showed us round the flat which was perfect for our needs.

The location of the Nook is perfect for walking both to Windermere and Bowness. We found that there seemed to be more choice of places to eat in Bowness but the only problem with that was that the walk there was further than the walk to Windermere.

The only reason why I have not given 5 stars if that on the website for the flat it is described as having WiFi and Sky TV channels. The first statement was true but the only problem is that the signal was so weak it had problems first of all finding it and if it did it did not stay connected for too long. The statement about SKY channels was not true as there was only a freesat box.

Even with the negative points now that I know what to expect, if my wife and I were ever to go back to the lake district it would be a place that I would be happy to stay at again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked least: Even though wi-fi was offered the signal was so weak that it was as if it did not exist
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2013
You should have mentioned the WIFI to me whilst you were staying.
There was a signal problem which I have now resolved so the Nook and Cranny now have full strength WIFI.

Thanks

Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing