We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our Perfect Cosy Traditional Xmas away”
other travellers have booked this property
Cliburn Signal Box from field (south south east)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cliburn Signal Box from field (south south east)
Cliburn Signal Box from road (west south west)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Cliburn Signal Box from field (south south east)
Cliburn Signal Box from road (west south west)
Cliburn Signal Box from field (west)
Cliburn Signal Box from road (south west)
Cliburn Signal Box from road (north west)
Cliburn Signal Box from wood (north north west)
Cliburn Signal Box at night
1st floor lounge
1st floor lounge
Original ceiling and beams in 1st floor lounge
Kitchen
Entering kitchen from 1st floor lounge
Kitchen
Ground floor bedroom
Ground floor bedroom
Bathroom
View to west from 1st floor lounge
View of the Weighbridge to south from 1st floor lounge
Cliburn Station, to west of the Signal Box
View to west from Cliburn Station
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Penrith, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Busterfru...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our Perfect Cosy Traditional Xmas away”
Reviewed 26 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

At the age of 40 this was our 1st xmas away from our families & the best xmas we could ask for!!
The location was spot on, close enough to amenties should you need them (Penrith has everything even a B&M) & the nearest Lake Ulswater a short drive away
Pooley Bridge is well worth a visit & Glenridding pier where you can take a boat trip.
Cliburn Signal Box was the Perfect choice ticking all the boxes on our wish list, its Detached so no noisy neighbors, crisp county air, clear starry nights with minimal light polution & catching a shooting star, overlooking woods at both sides, cheeky neighbourly sheep grazing on food put out for the birds, an abundance of Wildlife from deer, fox, owl, pheasants galore, buzzard, robins, wren & on the feeders blue tits, cole tits, great tits, chaffinch & a bull finch..
We added a few touches to the xmas decs inc holly from the woods, & with the roaring log burner & cinnamon candle it made the perfect homely, cosy & warm traditional Christmas we could have wished for
Simply Perfect!!!
The Owners Wendy & Gavin (very down to earth, easy going & very easy to talk to) were the perfect hosts, close enough if needed but also left you to your own devices
Wendy gave us a warm 5 min bob round welcome on our arrival & we called upon Gavin's assistance the next morning during storm Barbara, he arrived in quick time to say we was in all day & not to rush ;-)
Everything was clean & well presented & had everything you needed (most importantly 3 bottle openers lol)
The perfect quirky cosy Christmas we had dreamed of!!!

Thanks again Wendy & Gavin for everything from the Xmas decks, bottle of wine to the prompt assistance during the storm
We loved it xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
Thanks so much for the review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, despite the storm and even better that it ticked all the boxes at such a special time of year. We hope to see you again in the future.
Gavin & Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved the peacefulness of the location and it's close proximity to the Lake District National Park
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Jul 2017
Good to hear you enjoyed your stay and that the Signal Box was an ideal base.
Kind regards,
Gavin & Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Firefly15...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely place to stay. Brilliant conversion. Very peaceful and beautiful area to go walking. Great place to explore - close by to Brougham Castle, Penrith and the Lakes. Thank you to Gavin and Wendy for making us feel welcome and also for the bottle of wine. Would definitely recommend and plan to revisit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2017
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and even better to hear you plan to return.
Kind regards,
Gavin & Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan T
Chearsley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent base for exploring the Eden Valley and Lake District”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The signal box has been superbly restored and provides really good accommodation. We loved the location and will definitely return in future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and nature of the property
Liked least: The matress on the bed could do with replacing as it had a slight dip towards the middle!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2017
Great to hear the Signal Box was an ideal base for your stay.
Regards,
Gavin & Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia J
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unique & Perfect!”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My husband has been a Train Driver for over 20 years, so I thought this would be the perfect get-away for us and we were not disappointed! The Signal Box is in a great location if you have a car, close to shops, nice restaurants and pubs (The Beehive Inn was nice with simple but good quality food and excellent service) and far enough off the beaten track to feel you are away from it all. Located close to woodland, which provides lovely walks and a rich backdrop to the fields of sheep and hens that surround the property, the Signal box has all you could want. It has been lovingly renovated to a high standard and you can read all about its history and development during your stay. We also used the walking guides provided and did a really nice walk to Temple Sowerby and also visited Lowther Castle and gardens. We loved our stay and hope to return again soon. The welcome bottle of red wine from Wendy & Gavin was a nice touch too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is a quirky comfortable property, off the beaten track but not too remote
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2017
Wonderful to hear that the Signal Box did not disappoint your perfect get-away.
Kind regards,
Gavin & Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing