We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“No expense spared”
other travellers have booked this property
Cliburn Signal Box from field (south south east)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cliburn Signal Box from field (south south east)
Cliburn Signal Box from road (west south west)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Cliburn Signal Box from field (south south east)
Cliburn Signal Box from road (west south west)
Cliburn Signal Box from field (west)
Cliburn Signal Box from road (south west)
Cliburn Signal Box from road (north west)
Cliburn Signal Box from wood (north north west)
Cliburn Signal Box at night
1st floor lounge
1st floor lounge
Original ceiling and beams in 1st floor lounge
Kitchen
Entering kitchen from 1st floor lounge
Kitchen
Ground floor bedroom
Ground floor bedroom
Bathroom
View to west from 1st floor lounge
View of the Weighbridge to south from 1st floor lounge
Cliburn Station, to west of the Signal Box
View to west from Cliburn Station
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Penrith, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kkkaarree...
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“No expense spared”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Beautiful accomodation with excellent fitments and ground source heating (not cheap and usually bypassed by developers).
High up above the road with an excellent view, sleepers outside and an ample car space gated.
Chickens visit every morning, afternoon and evening. Ducks stay away.
Owners exceptionally helpful with booking process and Gavin very very efficient.
My one tip would be...
Be aware of the traffic going down the road. There's very little of it so if it picks up it's likely locals are using it as a diversion. If that's the case go in the same direction and find your way out. We did and were very pleased not to have been facing them on the wiggly roads. Roadworks on a66 that morning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quirkiness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2016
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and the wonderful ground source heating. The chickens will always visit if you feed them, but soon learn to stay away if you don't!
The road is normally so quiet, but if anything happens on the A66 then modern satnavs divert using our road as a cut through. Shame, but can't be helped.
Thanks again,
Gavin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UkDickie
Uk
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed 25 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Stayed here for a weekend break. What a wonderful place and location. The conversion has been done so well. Everything about the accommodation great. If we had stayed for two weeks I know there would have been everything you needed for self catering. The kitchen had everything. The views from the lounge were amazing and when we went out and came back it was great to be welcomed by the ducks and chickens. I so hope the owners do well in the next venture converting another dwelling on site. Would recommend the signal box. You must go and stay in this beautiful area. Easy reach for all the lakes. I would also like to say I have never stayed in a place before that was as clean as this one. We will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: everything about the place
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2016
Thank you for the comments and what a title to give them. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope that the renovation of The Weigh Office will be completed soon and we will be receiving reviews like this one for it.
Thanks again,
Gavin & Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KARENDurh...
DURHAM
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What can i Say..........”
Reviewed 7 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

I really recommend this unusual and amazing place. ! My first visit with my Husband for a relaxing weekend break but it will certainly not be our last. Recommended by a work colleague, so pleased we booked and the weather was lovely too, a bonus. It has been renovated to a high standard , credit to Gavin & Wendy on such an amazing place, well done.!! Will recommend and family and friends and hope to return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location, the signal box itself.
Liked least: nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2017
So pleased that the Signal Box didn't disappoint and that you are going to continue to recommend us.
Kind regards,
Gavin & Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shamc21
liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I could live here”
Reviewed 5 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Fantastic cottage, converted to a high standard, the Owners have clearly spent lots of effort to create a fitting retreat in an unusual building.
There is a well equipped kitchen, good bed, great shower, log burner, outside seating and friendly hens.
The signal box is located close to Penrith,good for shopping. Cliburn is a lovely village, great views, wildlife, forrest land and rolling hills.
One can easily imagine the old steam trains chugging along the valley, right past the signal box with a quick burst of the whistle

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2016
Thanks so much for the lovely review. We feel blessed that we live in such a beautiful area and just love it when someone else comes and stays and then sings its praises.
Kind regards,
Gavin & Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The Accommodation!
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Jul 2017
How lovely to hear that you remember the Signal Box as it was and can now see how it has changed. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards,
Gavin & Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing