We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
30
12
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
30
12
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews premier lodge lovely lodge dog walking area hot tub was amazing dog friendly site main bathroom fridge freezer stayed here building work little things relaxing stay every morning easy access home from home north lakes enjoyed our stay alice
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2021 via mobile

Good location near the A66/M6. Handy for Ullswater. We stayed in a “lodge”, which in truth was a fancy static caravan. Very well appointed with flat screen TVs in the living room ana main bedroom. We booked a Gowbarrow Premier with a double bedded room and a twin bedded room. When we arrived the lodge was 2 double bedded rooms. When we raised this as an issue, it was clear that there were no other lodges available. Our invoice clearly shows what we booked. The ice making facility on the fridge/freezer has been deliberately been disabled by the site owners, “as they keep breaking”. There was a wine fridge, which was a nice touch. The lodge was spotlessly clean and the on-site staff were lovely and helpful. The hot tub was very hot at 40c. We also had a faulty shower tap in the ensuite, which enabled a range of temperatures between “boiling kettle” and “molten lava”. And when the controls heated up it was impossible to turn the shower off without scalding yourself. The helpful staff pointed out that the previous occupants had forced the temperature control the wrong way and this was remedied. Why this couldn’t be checked prior to arrival is perplexing. There are no facilities on site apart from a launderette and a couple of swings for the kids. The “check-in” office should offer basic provisions, which is a missed opportunity as there are no shops within walking distance. The beds are really uncomfortable with very cheap mattresses and pillows.

There are hundreds of houseflies that invade the lodges

Overall we enjoyed our break. We knew we were paying a ridiculous price due to the pandemic, but at the equivalent of £279 per night for 7 nights, the minimum I would expect is a comfy bed and a decent shower.

Room tip: Book food delivery with Sainsbury’s, really good service.
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Acritical F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon Leisure, General Manager at Flusco Wood Luxury Holiday Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2021

Hello, thank you very much for taking your time to leave us this feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and apologise for some of the issues you had. The Gowbarrow Premiers are not advertised as lodges anywhere on our own website/social media, please could you let us know what website you saw them advertised as this so we can contact them to have it changed? We will look into making it more clear on the listing that some of the Gowbarrow Premiers have two double beds, it may have been the last one available when you booked, which is why Hoseasons allocated it to you. The ice makers are disabled due to the problems of them being consistently damaged and difficult to repair, we do not advertise them as a feature of the Gowbarrow Premiers for this reason. We are glad the shower was sorted, the Housekeeping team are very thorough and check the showers are all working. However, they run a lot of the water taps during a clean, so the temperature of the shower may not have been noticeable at the time of checking. Our site is small and quiet and it is not advertised as having facilities like some of the bigger places. We have a little laundry, a small kids play area, and lots of grounds to walk in. We used to have a shop, but sadly had to close it due to the lack of use and huge amount of wastage generated. All major supermarkets will deliver to the park and we are not too far by car to local shops. We hope that you will visit again, we have some lovely actual lodges (the Askham, Helton, and Carltons are all lodges) that you may like to try :)

Kind regards,
The Flusco Wood Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2021

We stayed in Gowbarrow Premier with hot tub. Lovely and clean lodge. Loved view from veranda. Quiet site and very well maintained. Only issue was size of single beds as my two teenagers are tall lads. We had couple of queries which were dealt with almost immediately and with a smile. I would definitely return but book a larger lodge.
Just a shame we paid a small fortune for it compared to prices advertised for next year but that’s Covid for you.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank terrier12556
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon Leisure, General Manager at Flusco Wood Luxury Holiday Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2021

Hi,
Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad to hear you had a lovely stay. The bed sizes come as standard from the manufacturer in the Gowbarrow Premier, and they are designed to best fit them, hopefully you will find the new larger lodges a much better size. There are some great deals in November and early next year, we hope to see you then!

Kind regards,
Flusco Wood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2021 via mobile

Our time at flusco Wood was very good and all the family were happy, the hot tub has not to everyone's liking as the temperature ot the water was too low and when asked to rise the temperature they just said we can not touch the temperature of the water.

The lodge was very spacious and roomy, although I would like to see in the future 3 bedroom lodges, the kitchen was well equipped with all the cooking utensils and much more which is very good for a self catering lodge.

Flusco wood is the ideal place for a small family to stay to get away from home life and relax in comfort and style, I would definitely recommend staying here and would definitely stay again.

The de Groot family

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Cdegroot2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon Leisure, General Manager at Flusco Wood Luxury Holiday Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2021

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review, and we are glad you had a lovely stay with us. Regarding the hot tub, I am afraid we have to keep them at a certain temperature for health, safety, and hygiene reasons - we follow the most up-to-date
guidance and legislation regarding our hot tubs and the temperature of the water is an important factor in that. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
The Flusco Wood Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2021 via mobile

We stayed here last week in an Askham Deluxe Lodge (Grasmoor). Positives: modern, comfortable, clean lodge. Negatives: very noisy fridge/freezer making sleep very disruptive. The fridge backed onto the bedroom wall, so loud humming and vibrations were heard in the bedroom. Lack of privacy from 2 sets of large patio doors,at the front of the property (on show to everyone and everything) .There were roller blinds for privacy, but if used made the room very dark, needed vertical blinds or netting. Very few utensils, not even a pair of kitchen scissors! No soap or sanitiser in the kitchen, spare bin bags etc. Also only 4 coat hangers for 2 people in the bedrooms. Building work going on, not too bad for us, apart from seeing dumper trucks moving around, but must be worse for those closer to the work. I've stayed in nicer lodges for less money, so do not consider good value for money.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank dianeg873
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon Leisure, General Manager at Flusco Wood Luxury Holiday Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2021

Hi Diane,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you enjoyed the lodge itself and we apologise for the lack of utensils. As self-catering accommodation, we supply a couple of complimentary items such as a bin liner etc as most guest bring their own - however, we can supply more on request. We encourage guests to report these issues to us during their stay as we can usually resolve such things quickly for you so you can continue to enjoy your stay. Thank you again for your review, we will make a note of your points :-)

Kind regards,
The Flusco Wood Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2021 via mobile

We had a great week at Flusco Wood and stayed in The Askham Retreat Lodge which was amazing. Beautifully clean and extremely well kitted out. The bed is incredibly comfortable and the decor, furniture, fixtures and fittings are all contemporary and of high quality. The hot tub is lovely, under cover, tucked away down the side of the lodge and very private, it is also checked every day. The balcony is huge and has high quality outside table and chairs and parking is right alongside the lodge. We would love to come back to Flusco and to the Askham Retreat, it was a real retreat of a week and we enjoyed our time spent on the site which is very well run. Highly recommended for a romantic break for 2.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dolphin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon Leisure, General Manager at Flusco Wood Luxury Holiday Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2021

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are very glad to hear that you had such a wonderful stay and we hope to see you back again soon!

Kind regards,
Flusco Wood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews