We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE BOOKING ON LINE. BOOKED, CONFIRMED THEN NOT OPEN WHEN ARRIVED!!!”

Lakeside Cafe Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 26 Quick Bites in Keswick
Price range: US$1 - US$30
Description: Café | Restaurant by the Lake offers breakfast, lunch and pre-theatre dining in a contemporary setting. By the shores of Derwentwater, it is the perfect place to pick up a coffee before going on the launches, or lunch after a walk by the lake. Well behaved dogs are welcome! Dinner bookings are taken 5-8:30pm
Restaurant details
Description: Café | Restaurant by the Lake offers breakfast, lunch and pre-theatre dining in a contemporary setting. By the shores of Derwentwater, it is the perfect place to pick up a coffee before going on the launches, or lunch after a walk by the lake. Well behaved dogs are welcome! Dinner bookings are taken 5-8:30pm
Reviewed 11 June 2021

Having diner here pre-covid and enjoyed the food, post covid we pre-booked a week in advance for 6pm Sunday 6th June, the first day of our lake district hols. We received a reply asking us to confirm our booking which we did.
We arrived on time to find the place closed. We waited and waited then rang the place, no reply. We noticed a small sign saying that it closed at 3pm, what happened to our booking?? Luckily, Casa Bella in Keswick fitted us in.
Sent an email asking what the situation was, no reply. Very disappointing so beware booking on line.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stephendO7532CV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2021 via mobile

Overpriced and disappointing!
Fish finger sandwich was greasy and 90% batter, hardly any fish at all! Birds eye Fish Fingers are better!
Hubby had a beef burger which he said was ok but £12 and of you want chips it’s an extra 3.50....
This place does allow dogs which is it’s only good point. Think they rely on turnaround of customers and not returning customers - certainly cashing in on their location.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Shelleynoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2020

We have visited here BC ( before covid ) but were not sure what to expect . No need to worry here - good safety protocols firmly in place and the same level of service as we had experienced in previous visits . We enjoyed a glass of wine each and super soup . And of course Autumn colours outside and a view of Derwentwater .
Thank you . We will be back !

Date of visit: October 2020
1  Thank Climber52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2020

Managed to get a table here quite quickly despite the pandemic and opted for their tomato soup which was spicy but just perfect for a cool autumn day. Looking forward to a return visit in 2021.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 797SusanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2020

Was served a plate of lettuce with a cheese sandwich with two extremely thin slices of cheese containing yet more lettuce. The roll was not the freshest. The replacement was not much better, it had the addition of a small amount of chutney!! The only plus was that without asking the staff refunded the cost of the sandwich and did apologise.

Date of visit: October 2020
1  Thank joanscarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lakeside Cafe Restaurant also viewed

Rosthwaite, Borrowdale
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Lakeside Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.