We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (804)
Filter reviews
804 results
Traveller rating
496
228
49
20
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
496
228
49
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews herdwick room front bar chateaubriand overlooking the square queens hotel no air con dog friendly hotel lovely hotel evening meal high standard booked a table hotel restaurant town square every member of staff parking permit third floor both nights
Filter
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 804 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

We had a visit with our USA family & our dog on a DBB deal. This must be our favourite place to stay in Keswick as we have been here loads of times. The staff are friendly, the rooms are comfortable(no baths, all showers, which is a miss after a long dog walk). The hotel is in an ideal location for visiting other pubs & shops in the town. We will be looking out for our next offer!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Fussyteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_innonthesquare, Manager at Inn on the Square, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you for your review. It's a pleasure to hear we are your favourite place to stay. What a compliment! Hopefully you will visit us again soon. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Only 3 out of 5 as I feel like I have been short changed. I booked the offer on their website for 165 for one night including dinner and breakfast. After I had booked and paid I see offers for the same day for 104 if u stay on a Sunday which I did. Contacted hotel via email and Facebook no reply . So I basically paid 50 too much. Hotel itself is good nice and modern decent rooms. Mattress was a bit hard both me and the wife struggled to sleep on it. Food was nice although steak was overcooked. Ideal for keswick town centre would prob stay somewhere ele if returning to keswick.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank GarethR535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_innonthesquare, Manager at Inn on the Square, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed most of your stay. In regards to the pricing of our rooms, they do fluctuate depending on any offers we may have on at the time as does every other hotel. I'm sorry this has affected your stay and hope you would reconsider staying with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

The quality of the facilities was excellent but access to some of the rooms was awkward with extra stairs and steps. The food was beautifully presented, but the system of "allowances" towards a dinner cost meant losing concentration on the most important thing, the food and sitting adding up the allowance differences!
Parking at the hotel was very limited and some drivers were completely incapable of parking between two white lines. This problem has prevailed for years.

Room Tip: Rooms on the East side are quieter not overlooking the market place
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_innonthesquare, Manager at Inn on the Square, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm sorry to hear you found our Dinner Bed and Breakfast allowance system confusing. Our DBB guests are allocated 28.00 per person to spend towards dinner in the restaurant. Any extras and drinks are to be paid for separately on departure. You're welcome to spend more than the 28.00 on food per person, this will just be charged to your room to be paid when you check out. I hope this has made it more clear for you for future reference. Hopefully you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Stopped in a few times for drinks in the front bar and impressed by the service, decor and ambience and thought it would be a great place to have a meal. We booked sunday lunch in the Brossen restaurant for a family get together and had a super experience. The lunchtime menu is very good value for money, but still beautiful food, good portion size and excellently presented. Service was perfect from start to finish.
We would definately return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_innonthesquare, Manager at Inn on the Square, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Thank you for your review Simon H.
I'm glad you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch with us in our Brossen Steakhouse. We pride ourselves in excellent quality food in good portions so it's always good to hear when our guests enjoy and appreciate this. Thanks for the recommendation and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

This is a Smart boutique hotel that oozes quality - albeit of a very modern kind . Staff are friendly and helpful especially the reception staff who are charming and knowledgeable not only about the hotel and its facilities but about the area and how to get to various places of interest. Food is good - with an excellent breakfast cold buffet and hot dishes cooked to order. You walk out of the front door and you are right in the middle of the bustling pedestrianized town square. Drawback for us was the presence of dogs - 2 large ones in the lounge area - but it seems that most hotels in the lakes take dogs. The hotel makes is clear that dogs are welcome and we were told they are restricted to a limited no of bedrooms. Other drawback is parking - make sure you book a slot in the hotels car park which is limited to about 8 vehicles as parking in Keswick can be very difficult - there are handy car parks but likely to be full if you arrive during the day . Definitely worth a visit .

Room Tip: views of the mountains at the back are ok but you also look out on to the rear of many other town centre establishments
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GuisboroughJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_innonthesquare, Manager at Inn on the Square, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Thank you for your review. We're delighted to hear you had such a pleasant stay with us. Yes we do have dog friendly rooms and also some rooms we keep "dog free" if any of our guests have allergies or choose this as their preference. Our secure garage does have limited spaces however we also provide parking permits for the 2 very close by long-stay car parks which we charge just 2 pounds per night for. We try to make parking in Keswick as easy as possible as we know sometimes it can be a challenge. Thank you for recommending us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews