We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy and comfortable”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Greta Bank Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
The river Greta, viewed from Greta Bank Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bob O
Newhaven, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy and comfortable”
Reviewed 17 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

3rd time at this cottage and we had the usual warm welcome from Dot and Ron. Situated 10 mins walk from Keswick it is ideal for the northern lakes. Cottage is clean and comfortable and with the fire on in the evening is very cosy. Brother and sister inlaw also stayed for the week, the beds are comfortable and were most welcome after a days walking. Everything you need if you wish to cook at the cottage in the evenings but with 10 minute walk into Keswick you will find pubs and restaurants. Will be back in 2013.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The welcome
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat195173
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely comfy cottage in superb location”
Reviewed 6 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Really enjoyed our stay in Greta Bank Cottage, met with the owners on our arrival, which was lovely, cottage clean and well equipped, on the banks of the River Greta. Nice level walk into Keswick Town Centre. Excellent location and would not hesitate to recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the location
Liked least: everything was fine
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mindy R
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“what a lovely cottage in Keswick”
Reviewed 11 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012

We booked this cottage at the last minute, and what a delight it was. When staying in the Lake District, I usually prefer to stay in Ambleside or Windemere but we thought we'd try someone different. We arrived at 7 pm and were personally greeted by the owners. They showed us where everything was and even left us a bowl of fruit and some fresh flowers. The cottage was cosy and nice & clean with a fully equiped kitchen. It was nice not to have to worry about taking towels and bedding. The cottage has space for one car. I was surprised how quiet the house was at night, even with cars going past. We went to the pub across the road, Twa Dogs which had a pool table and darts board which my 13 year old liked. We didn't eat there but meals were around £8-12 pounds I think. Quite a few walks with Keswick as it's base so we didn't drive the entire week we were there. If you want to self cater, make a trip to Booth's Supermarket for great quality food. As the cottage doesn't have Wifi, we went to Costa Coffee for that. It's about 8-10 minute walk into town. Would definitely recommend this cottage and hope to return again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the friendleness of owners
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindapal3...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“10 mins walk from Keswick”
Reviewed 15 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012

cosy 3 storey cottage,nice and light....will book again....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: cosy...10mins walk to Keswick..bus stop outside,garage across road,with shop.
Liked least: cartwinder stairs,must walk down with care....not suitable for children
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mal350
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
“very nice cottage and well placed for walking in the Keswick area”
Reviewed 13 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011

The cottage was well equiped and well maintained. nice seating area by the river and very quite.But the car parking is very tight if all the cottages are occupied.
Meals in the Four in Hand pub in Keswick are excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the seating area by river
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing