We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Not as advertised - even better!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Crandy Nook

View of Walla Crag from top floor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Walla Crag from top floor
Living Room Bedroom 2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
View of Walla Crag from top floor
Living Room
Bedroom 2
Top Floor Living Area
Bathroom 1
Single Bedroom
Bedroom 1
Kitchen
Living Area
Living Area
Kitchen towards Walla Crag
Dining Area
Hallway
Derwentwater
Rooftops to Bassenthwaite
Keswick Town Centre
View of Skiddaw
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Spagface
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not as advertised - even better!!”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Fantastic place. We have been coming to Kewsick for a over ten years and this has to be one of the best equipped properties we have encountered. Two large bathrooms, with baths and separate showers, and a kitchen extremely well supplied with utensils etc. The open-plan living part is on the top floor and a new window has been created to the rear to enjoy fantastic views from both aspects.

Very close to the town centre, but not particularly noisy. I cannot understand the petty negative comments, but if you allow me to put my own views.......

Property entered from the back, along an alleyway, and up a metal staircase: Not a problem. As most of the properties are above shops which are in Station Street, and separately owned, this is the only way to gain entry, unless a private helicopter lands on the roof. I don't especially expect the rear of businesses, with bins and storage areas to be laid out like Kew Gardens.

Nearly forty steps between all floors: It is clearly stated the accommodation is on three floors, so shouldn't be a surprise. I like ice in my wine and as the freezer is in the utility room, it was an extra chance to increase fitness levels by running up and down every thirty minutes or so.

Scuff marks on walls: This is bound to happen with people carrying suitcases and shopping up and down the stairs every week of the year. Expecting the owners to re-decorate after every visitor is a bit much.

Unused rooms locked. That is quite normal, as it allows travellers like us to have a discount if the whole of the accomodation is not required.

Thanks for a great stay, even though I am writing this while we are still here. I have especially enjoyed the owner's intelligent and witty responses to the nitpicking comments a couple of people have posted.

Anne and Mike.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments, which are both supportive of and relevant to what we offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cora A
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely House!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed here over the last weekend in April for four days, Myself and my friend were in Keswick to do a 30 mile charity challenge and were looking for somewhere reasonably priced, dog friendly and that felt like we had a little bit of luxury!

We were pleasantly surprised to see that both bathrooms had baths and standalone showers, and were in immaculate condition.

The towel Bundles per room are more than adequate for a couple, we took extra towels just in case but didn't really need them.

We were also really pleased that there was a washing machine and tumble dryer, giving the weather that we had during our challenge.

Myself and my Husband had the bedroom on the second floor, which was extremely quiet, our friends were woken up a few times sleeping on the floor below, but it wasn't a major issue, we appreciated that things might be more lively at the weekend.

The kitchen which is on the top floor was very well equipped with all utensils, cutlery, oven dishes, tea towels, dishwasher tablets and included a little pack of teabags, sugar and coffee, please note that the freezer is in the utility room and not the kitchen, didn't realise this until the last day, wifi code can also be found on the back of the router, which is also in the utility room.

The house had a good stock of board games, playing cards and information about the local area.

Rooms were clean, and the house generally had a homely feel, it is over three floors, so if you struggle with stairs I wouldn't recommend it, but it wasn't an issue for us.

I will definitely stay here again, didn't miss having a garden because of all the parks, fields and lakes right on our doorstep. The house is right off one of the main streets in Keswick, so everything is a very short walk away and the views from up top are stunning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jhill_198...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I stayed here with my partner and another couple for 3 nights as we were taking part in a charity challenge.

We arrived on Friday, followed the directions which were great. There is no parking outside the cottage but you get two passes for the local car park which is less than 5 minutes away. We were able to unload the car etc.

The cottage has 3 floors. A double room, single room and bathroom on the first two floors. We only used the two doubles but they were all perfectly clean with fresh linen and towels etc. the bathrooms were spotless.

The top floor consists of a well equipped kitchen and a living room. Once again everything was clean and well kept. There is a flat screen tv, blu ray etc. there is wifi but we struggled connecting and could get connection on one sofa but this wasn't a major issue really.

We easily used the kitchen to make meals which was nice and simple. They supply you with dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid, tea towels etc. downstairs is a utility room with a washing machine and tumble dryer which came in very handy after our challenge.

The location was perfect with easy access to the town center and local park etc.

The cottage is pet friendly with the exception of pets going in the bedrooms which wasn't a problem at all.

Overall, we all enjoyed our stay and would return. It was great value for money especially considering the location and how modern everything was.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2014
We are really pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at our property and would love to have you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilyRic...
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Spacious, great location but noisy..”
Reviewed 21 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

As the other reviewers have said and the photos show it is spacious and very central with amazing views. You pay for the location at the weekends though, noise carries without double glazing and goes on until the early hours. Few quirks that come with the property, unusual to have 1 set of towels per bathroom - not per guest. Could do with the extra touches that competitors provide e.g. soap. The property was clean, although they have the unusual property of locking rooms if reduced occupancy and we still had to pay extra for one room to be unlocked for some floor space for a child's bed which grated somewhat. The rooms are spacious, and two bathrooms generous. Cooker knobs rubbed away so difficult to use, and deposit takes a couple of weeks & phonecalls to get returned. No wifi instructions so had to phone up. Glad to be home as with nearly 40 steps over 3 floors in the property it becomes tiring after a long days fell walking!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Need to be up and down 3 floors
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2013
We do have double glazing!

When it comes to the towels and ‘complimentary extras’ it’s worth pointing out that most properties to let in Keswick do not provide linen, towels, toilet rolls and a kitchen pack as they are self-catering properties. We provide these extras for the convenience of our guests and please note it’s one pack per bedroom, not bathroom.

The reason we offer reduced occupancy is so that we can offer larger properties to smaller parties but with a reduced rental price. Unfortunately we do have to lock the rooms as some guests will use the bedrooms even if they have not paid for them and we incur an extra cleaning charge as a result.

Our agents confirm that when you booked the property, you stated there were only to be 3 adults in the party however you rang on arrival querying the locked bedroom as you wanted a room for your toddler to sleep in a toddler bed! Out of good faith our agents agreed you pay £15 instead of £30 in the understanding you did not use the bed. Our agents found the bed linen to be dirty but you weren’t charged.

The Wi Fi details were in the welcome folder.

The security bond is refunded within 10 days of departure as per the booking terms and conditions and our agents advise they tell all our guests at the time of the booking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeskie
Ayrshire
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Needs a refurb”
Reviewed 2 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Just returned from a weeks stay at Crandy Nook. Location brill however the standard of cleanliness throughout the accommodation leaves a lot to be desired and we had to contact the property agent to clean both bathrooms, the rest we had to make do with ie the cobwebs throughout, stained top covers on beds, stained carpet, cracked crockery, fused bulbs etc. The whole house is in need of a freshen up as paintwork badly marked. The access to the property isnt great either as this is via a very dark alley which i wouldnt like to attempt at night if alone. Please also note that you are unable to put the washing machine on after 6.30 pm and the bedrooms at front of house are extremely noisy. Accommodation has great potential but sadly lacking in some tlc

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2013
We are very disappointed that you have not had the experience most of our guests have had and made cause for complaint, albeit in our opinion, unjustly. We endeavour to maintain the highest standards and being the last people in the property prior to your stay, we were bewildered and upset by your damming comments. Incidentally, you do overlook the prompt attention given by our agents to the alleged cleanliness issue when it was highlighted.

We’re immensely proud of Crandy Nook and take pleasure in reading the comments in our Visitors Book each time we visit. We’re deeply offended by your “lacking in some TLC” comment. For the last 3 years, Crandy Nook has enjoyed Visit Britain Gold Award status and to achieve this, the property has to maintain the highest level of finish and cleanliness. It is inspected annually.

Carpets and the barrier matting have been updated recently and the internal paintwork is painted annually but some scuffing (“badly marked”…really?) will be inevitable in the meantime. The only carpet stain we could find is on the new barrier matting, which is there for guests to clean their footwear. The stain is the size of a two pence piece and is currently being professionally attended to.

2 of the decorative bed throws (note that these are not bed covers), have a small water-type mark on but there is no discolouration, say from food, drink or make-up. Fusing of the halogen down-lights does happen – there are 77 in the property – and we will be investing in the long life LEDs soon.

Crandy Nook is a central apartment and two of the bedrooms overlook the town centre. It would therefore be expected that during New Year there would be celebrations into the night especially as the whole of Keswick meet on the market square to welcome in the New Year together.

The “dark alley” is 25 yards from the main street which gives access to the businesses below, which are predominantly cafés and restaurants, so it’s far from sinister and unsafe, which you imply. Keswick is one of the safest towns is the country.

Finally, we don't quite see the point of your tirade including comment on not being able to use the washing machine in the evening – we’re only thinking of our neighbours.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing