We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal for what we wanted”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Gable Cottage

Gable Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gable Cottage
Wordsworth Street Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
67 reviews
Gable Cottage
Wordsworth Street
Lounge
Dining Room
Double Bedroom
Patio and Garden
Twin Room
Kitchen
4 Star Self Catering
Keswick Market
Catbells and Derwentwater
Lakeside
Keswick and Derwentwater from Latrigg
River Greta
Main Street
St John's Church In Bloom
Skiddaw In Winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
magwat
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal for what we wanted”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The property was spacious, warm, well-equipped, conveniently situated in Keswick with easy access to pubs, restaurants, walks, buses and boats to take you further afield. Although parking was not a problem, a car was not essential to enjoy the Northern Lakes.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indeana
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent property near town centre”
Reviewed 23 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Located within 10 minutes walk of the town centre. This was one of the best properties we have stayed in over 30 years. Everything was as described and as we expected. Spacious accommodation suitable for 5 people. There was street parking available near the property every day except for the day of arrival. There is a car port at the back of the property that can take a medium size vehicle. Otherwise one could park in the alleyway at the back of the property just for unloading. We will consider staying in this property again if we revisit Keswick.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Access for unloading on arrival
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rupert S
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed 9 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had stayed in the Lake District twice before in rental cottages and Gable Cottage far surpassed both of our previous experiences. It is very well equipped, spacious and very pleasant to return to after a long day's walking. It is within very easy reach ie 10 mins walk of Keswick town centre and saves having to use the car too much. We would highly recommend it as one of the best self catering cottages we have stayed in. There is a car port which is suitable for small cars which is a big advantage as it got very busy during the May Bank Holiday week that we stayed. Overall, it was an excellent holiday with good weather on the whole.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness of the property.
Liked least: Not applicable as we liked it all.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolene D
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well equipped cottage in great location”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Good location - only a short walk to the centre but in a quiet street. Nicely decorated and clean. Good sized lounge with plenty of seating, TV, DVD/video player, freeview and selection of dvds and videos to watch. Also lots of leaflets and walk information. Wi-fi speed was good. 2 bathrooms were very handy with 5 people. Kitchen had everything you'd need with dishwasher and washer in the utility room. Washer wasn't working while we were there but the owner informed us before we got to the property and compensated us for having to use the launderette. Good customer service.

The only downside of this property is the hard beds but it wouldn't stop us staying again and everything else makes up for it. All in all a great family holiday cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Plenty of space in property
Liked least: The hard beds
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne C
Preston, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fabulous cottage easily accessible to the centre of Keswick. A home from home!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed here for a week and loved every minute. The cottage was of a high standard with everything you needed for a comfortable weeks stay. Our family joined us whilst there and the cottage accommodated the five of us comfortably. It was within five minutes walk of the town and five minutes to the local playground. The owners had provided everything you would need including basics like washing up liquid, foil, sandwich bags which reduces all the extras you need to take. Any concerns we had were promptly dealt with therefore making the week a relaxing and enjoyable time. We will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The little extras as mentioned above
Liked least: Everything was great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;