We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:15 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience The Grasmere Gingerbread Shop
from US$71.27
More Info
from US$69.49
More Info
from US$85.82
More Info
from US$69.49
More Info
Reviews (1,702)
Filter reviews
1,702 results
Traveller rating
1,218
346
91
17
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,218
346
91
17
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ginger bread gingerbread shop worth the wait long queue secret recipe biscuits take home behind the counter fudge lake district cake well worth a visit little gem at home cup of tea william wordsworth smell
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,702 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2021 via mobile

Do not send any gingerbread out of the country. Since Brexit- you will be charged around £30.00 at least on top of your delivery fee. The website does not make this clear at all!

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank havkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2020

Such a shame. I ordered x2 tins of gingerbread, which is gorgeous, to be delivered to my home in Wiltshire asking for a certain delivery date as it was going to be boxed up and sent as part of a present. Unfortunately my order has never arrived. I contacted the company who said it was a mix up with FedEx and they gave me a tracking number. The tracking number did not exist with FedEx. I was then also given some excuse about goods waiting at docks but due to Brexit would not be available until after Christmas. I have asked the company for a full refund but to date this has not appeared either. To say I am dissapointed with their service is an understatement. My advice only get their goods from the shop & not online!

Date of experience: February 2020
1  Thank Claytonlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2020

Serving fantastic gingerbread, from a beautiful quaint little shop they also have fantastic covid measures and great, friendly staff. 100% recommended for a treat to take home and pop in the microwave for a few seconds.

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank 883edwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2020 via mobile

Really delicious gingerbread, bought some for ourselves, the dog sitters and the kids - loved by everyone. Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank Grimseypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2020

I visited recently during Covid one day before Lockdown 2 started! There was a queue even in the pouring rain, and little room to get in or out as the shop is so small, however to ensure Covid safety there is a red and green light outside informing people when they can enter the shop. Literally only one or two people can fit in to the shop at one time. As ever the smell of gingerbread was wonderful and it certainly brought back some fond childhood memories. There is a choice of gingerbread and you can purchase Kendal Mont Cake and a few other confectionery products unique to The Lake District. I would say this little historic shop is the heart of Grasmere and not to be missed!

Date of experience: November 2020
2  Thank victorian986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews