We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent cottage in superb rural location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blea Brows

Entering the courtyard!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entering the courtyard!
Cosy woodburner! New comfy two seater sofa and 'firm' supportive armchair - for ease of dismount!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
56 reviews
Entering the courtyard!
Cosy woodburner!
New comfy two seater sofa and 'firm' supportive armchair - for ease of dismount!
New comfy two seater sofa!
(as promised!)
New comfy three seater sofa.  (As also promised!)
Hallway
Double bedroom
Twin or double bedroom
Further twin or double
Kitchen
Kitchen table
View across the courtyard
View from the landing
The new patio and garden furniture!
Down by the lake
Lake shore beach
The lake shore in winter.  Not much beach but plenty of snow!
View down the lake - Fairfield
Wildcat Island!
Blawith Common beach to walk to!
...and the same view in the snow!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Coniston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kathleen...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent cottage in superb rural location”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Blea Brows is a lovely cottage in an excellent location next to a lake (2 minute walk). It is fairly rural so it car is defenitely needed. But it is only a short drive to Coniston and Ambleside. There are also plenty of walks nearby.
The cottage itself is very well equipped, especially the kitchen. The living/dining area is homely and cosy, ideal for spending evenings there. The big table is great for playing games, even with 6 people! There is also a TV, an iPod docking station, books, maps and games - more than enough to keep one entertained. The fireplace is great for colder nights. We were a little unlucky with the weather so could not try the BBQ in the garden. Everything was clean and tidy. The rooms are spacious and the beds are very comfy too.
When we arrived we were more than surprised to find a bottle of red wine waiting for us. What a lovely welcome gift. Thank you Phil, very much appreciated! We all really enjoyed staying at Blea Brows and would love to come again!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2014
Wow! A lovely review! Thank you for your kind comments. It is always lovely when people enjoy their stay, as it is really important to us that you have a good time! Hopefully another time the weather will be kinder! Many thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MumOutdoo...
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Peaceful woodland retreat with lake access”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Good sized property for our group of 5. Kitchen very well equipped, living room comfy and excellent drying and storage space. We found the three bathrooms very handy. Loved the local prints and paintings distributed throughout the house. Private access to Coniston Water through the woods was the main reason we booked the property. This is really lovely and a real bonus although it was very tricky for us to lug the 2 x Canadian canoes down to the shore. Would be much easier with lighter vessels and/or a trolley! (NB We hired the canoes from Distant Horizons on Ullswater - very efficient delivery/pick up service and professional, helpful staff). Wifi access much appreciated but it would be helpful if the password was provided in the house literature. 12 noon departure much easier as we didn't have to rush too much. Bluebird Cafe at Coniston Launch well worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lake access
Liked least: No views
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2014
Hi guys. Thanks for your review. It's always very helpful to have things pointed out (good and bad!). Great to hear that you had a good time. Glad you like the prints. We've really enjoyed collecting prints from local artists. Nice to know that other people like them too! Also, thanks for the info about hiring canoes. What a good service, delivering them from Ulverston. We'll try and put their details in the cottage info. Take the point about the canoe trolley. We use one, but as we don't hire it out (as yet), it's not readily available! Perhaps we'll mention that in the details too! Apologies about the wifi password! It's a fairly recent addition and we hadn't got round to making it obvious. it's now on the first page of the details! (We'll also include it with the directions when we send it out!) Anyway, thanks again for your constructive comments. Phil and Kate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joanne a
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

A wonderful, homely cottage in a great location for exploring. I was looking for the perfect place and found it in Blea Brows. Our dogs loved the garden and lake. Already recommended to friends and would love to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2014
Thank you so much for your delightful comment. It was very kind of you to be so complimentary. We like it, but it's always lovely when other people do too! Many thanks, also, for recommending it to your friends. You are, as a valued customer, entitled to a 10% discount for being such nice tenants! Thanks again, Phil and Kate Okeden
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moosheep
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful cottage in a lovely location”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We had a one week stay here in October. The cottage is very well equiped, warm and cosy. The log burning stove is fab! It's set in the woods and it is very quiet, a great place to stay to get away from it all. A short drive or long-ish walk takes you into Coniston which has some great places to eat and drink. An ideal location for the Lake District, loads of walks round about.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2013
Thanks Anita. What a lovely comment. It's always reassuring when other people enjoy the cottage as much as we do. Certainly, this time of year the woodburner is essential and really adds to the cosiness. We appreciate you taking time to write a review and are always interested in people's opinions so that we can act on them if necessary. Thanks again, Phil and Kate Okeden
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the lake
Liked least: No views from the house as you are in a wood.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Aug 2013
Wow! What a fabulous review. Thank you so much for your helpful comments. We really value the extra information you've given us about the Tesco delivery and BT Hotspots (not something that I know anything about!) and we'll definitely add that to the details. So pleased your holiday was a success. We'd love to see you there again. 10% off for returners! All the best, Phil and Kate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;