We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Buttermere

Southwaite Green in its setting
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Southwaite Green in its setting
Summer at Southwaite Green Buttermere from outside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Southwaite Green in its setting
Summer at Southwaite Green
Buttermere from outside
Wood burning stove and leather sofas in the living area
Bedroom with wheelchair turning space
Second bedroom
Kitchen area
Second bedroom detail
Wetroom shower
Bedroom detail
Wetroom basin
The Buttermere garden
The terrace
Rainwater butt
Buttermere over lavender bed
Wildflowers up by the pond
Fells through ash tree
Beck from footbridge
The nut walk
Up at the pond
Vase
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Cockermouth, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kosielemm...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Can't say enough good things about Marna and her accommodation. Wonderful, restful and in immaculate condition.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amandajan...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stupendous Eco holiday stay!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We were welcomed to Southwaite Green with a box of organic veg and a spotless, light and roomy Barn.We were pleased to see that there wasn't any 'chintz' that so many other Cumbrian cottages have. !
We loved the location and the Eco feel to everything. We are returning in May. We have been going to the Lakes for almost ten years and this is definitely where we will continue to stay. The dogs were very content too.
Excellent work Marna

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catAyrshi...
ayrshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All our needs catered for,Lovely welcome and lovely host”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

What can I was say,my dad has a disability and was in a wheelchair and buttermere was perfect for him .Fantastic location to stay with or without a disability.And the place was spotless,highly recommend this place for anyone.Also a great wee walk round the property by the pond, lovely

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keziajane
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location, excellent host, committment to local food and sustainability, what more could you want?”
Reviewed 9 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Buttermere Cottage at Southwaite Green was the perfect homebase for our family reunion in the western Lakes. The views were gorgeous and the cottage had everything we needed, including accessibility for one of our party with more limited mobility. We loved the private patio, the BBQ, the pond and pathways through the gardens, the local veggies and beer, and the overall committment to carbon neutrality. Recommended to one and all! (FYI, the guestbook at the property contains similarly positive reviews from previous visitors, mostly on repeat visits - so don't just take my word for it...)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the amenities, the commitment to biodiversity and sustainability
Liked least: The lack of wi-fi, sorry to say
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illyEdinb...
edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fabulous accomodation in a peaceful location”
Reviewed 19 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The property is nestled between Lorton and Cockermouth, in beautiful quiet countryside. Arrived to run the Keswick trail race with two friends and had a great time. We landed on Saturday afternoon and were lucky to have glorious weather for most of our stay (until Tuesday). The accommodation itself was top class, with good quality furnishings, comfortable bedrooms and a patio with lovely views to the hills. We were staying in Buttermere house . The owner, Marna, left a fabulous box of organic goodies, vegetables, some locally produced organic beer and bars of chocolate! The kitchen was well supplied and the shower wet room /bathroom area is of a high standard. All areas were extremely clean. It was evident a lot of effort has gone into thinking about the layout and keeping the accommodation as ecologically friendly as possible .Marna gave us suggestions to explore the local villages and directions as well as providing an information folder in the house regarding whats on in the area.
Marna has put considerable effort into making the area ecologically sustainable, attracting birds, bees and wildlife and growing beautiful plants and grasses. There is even a large pond, teeming with wildlife including more tadpoles than we have ever seen! We chose not to swim in the pond so not to disturb them although Marna advised we could take a dip. The properties are isolated and peaceful, the only noise we heard was the sound of birds and occasionally a tractor! Keswick is approximately an 8 mile drive away either by a relatively flat road or alternatively over the hills, the latter a particularly scenic drive. Cockermouth Village is approx 2 miles away and easy to walk to.

Overall we would highly recommend this property. It is clean, peaceful and set in beautiful and well maintained gardens surrounded by lovely countryside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: sitting in the garden and walking round the larger gardens up the hill to sit and watch the sunset
Liked least: struggling to think of anything maybe just the towels as they were abit hard ! Not sure if theres a green way of keeping them soft
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing