We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in a pretty village”
other travellers have booked this property
Comfortable relaxing lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Comfortable relaxing lounge
Easy access to kitchen. Dining area for that special meal.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Comfortable relaxing lounge
Easy access to kitchen.
Dining area for that special meal.
Wood burner makes a cosy atmosphere on those chilly evenings.
Fully fitted integral kitchen.
Adequate equipment for most culinary needs.
Bedroom with soft lighting and Freeview TV with DVD.
Comfortable double bed.
Spacious modern bathroom with over bath shower.
Summer house surrounded by wildflowers.
Chimenea for those chilly evenings in the garden.
Blennerhasset Village Green
Stunning Bassenthwaite Lake
Kitesurfing is popular at Allonby
Spectacular Solway Sunset
Capture your favourite view
Dubwath Silver Meadows Wetland is a FREE to visit attraction
Visit Maryport for surprising views and architecture
Hadrian's Wall World Heritage Site
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cockermouth, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cornusros...
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a pretty village”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Thanks to Mike and Sue for such a comfortable cottage. Everything a traveller could need was provided for at Beech Tree Yard cottage in the Lakes District. The brochure folder was especially helpful for planning day trips. Highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2014
Thank you very much for your review and kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at our cottage, we try our best to provide for visitors so that their stay is a positive one. We hope you may wish to visit the Lake District again and welcome you to stay at our cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C
2 reviews
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Myself and my partner stayed here for a weekend in August and thought the value was great. We had everything we could need in the cottage and it was clean and tidy. The nearist shop is a short drive to the next village but as we had already brought our shopping with us it wasn't really a problem. The owners were very friendly and welcoming and we would definitely recommend staying and will hopefully return ourselves in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2014
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannisWhi...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent, homely and well equipped cottage.”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The cottage was perfect for our stay. All recently done up and tastefully decorated. Efficient new central heating system and dishwasher made everything very easy and convenient. Everything worked perfectly and we were made to feel very welcome on arrival. The cottage has everything you could need and was stocked with tea and coffee. We made use of the OS maps of the surrounding area in the cottage and there's a good selection of books to browse through. The secret garden is lovely and worth a short wander up the road even though we didn't spend much time up there as we were off doing other things. Would thoroughly recommend and certainly stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2014
Thanks for the review, we are pleased your stay was a good one. We try hard to add that personal touch for everyone who stays. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn C
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing break”
Reviewed 30 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed at the cottage for four nights for my husbands birthday, the cottage is very well equipped, modern with a lovely log fire and central heating. It's in a quite location near to Keswick and Cockermouth, ideal for touring the North Lakes .We would highly recommend a stay in the cottage and do as much or as little as you like. Thanks for the warm hospitality of Mike & Sue who go out of their way to make your stay throughly enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace and. tranquility
Liked least: there was nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidaype...
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage, home from home.”
Reviewed 5 April 2013 for a stay in November 2012

Visited this lovely cottage in November, really cosy with the log fire and central heating. The cottage is very well equiped and spotlessly clean, it feels like home from home. Fresh eggs and meat available within the attached residences. The village is ideal for peaceful breaks and within distance of coastal towns. Will certainly go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy feeling of home
Liked least: It was exactly what we expected
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$74
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing