We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Couldn't have wished for a better hen party”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Big White House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
65 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
11 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Cockermouth, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jenny M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Couldn't have wished for a better hen party”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This place had just everything we needed. I had my hen party here for 22 girls. We hired a hot tub which went perfectly. We did yoga in the garden, had morning tea in the summer house and wonderful meals together round the big table. Great value for a large group, wonderful locals and lots of great things to do and see in the surrounding areas. Very happy memories indeed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2016
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we might see you again soon. Kind regards, the Stay Lakeland team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alun E
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great opportunity to get family together in one place”
Reviewed 30 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed at The Big White House for three nights for a family get together. Even though our party was for twenty adults, children and two dogs, we had more than enough space to feel very much at home. The dining room had room to seat 24 which was brilliant as it was the focal point of the house, and the 11 bedrooms, pool room, large kitchen, garden, three lounges were everything that we wanted. The kitchen was very well stocked with glasses, crockery, cooking utensils, large fridge, freezer, washing machine, and two large dishwashers. The house was modern and very clean and we immediately felt at home. The only downside was that the heating was only on for a short period of time, and the older members of the group felt quite cold and there was no way we could alter when it came on. The setting was perfect for walking the dogs and there were ample places to visit during the days we were there. On the evening of arrival we decided to use the recommended takeaway, but it was a disaster, it took two hours to arrive, cold and tasteless. However, we did discover a gem of a pub/restaurant a short walk away in Gilcrux called The Barn Bistro, where all twenty of us ate great food together on the gallery and sampled the many gins and whisky’s, Overall our weekend was a great success. Congratulations to the Big White House!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and setting
Liked least: Wifi weak and heating not on long enough
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
unner1
Dalbeattie
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect house for family to celebrate 90th Birthday”
Reviewed 15 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

What a find! a brilliant house with enough bedrooms for a family group of 17 ranging from 1 years to 90. All the beds were made for our arrival so a choice of where to sleep in comfy beds with nice bedding and throws.
The dining room was beautiful, set with Christmas decorations, crackers and a lovely tree, what a welcoming sight.
The kitchen is well equipped with dishes, pans and everything (and more) to cook for a large group. My only slight negative was the lack of coffee making facilities - only enough for 1 person, however I am sure this is an oversight as it had everything else.
Had the weather been better the outside area is lovely and would have been ideal for the children to let off steam.
Plenty of parking space and well lit.
We were unfortunate to have been there whilst Cockermouth was flooded so were unable to explore the area so were almost house bound, but the size of the house allowed everyone to have their own space.
The pool room is brilliant and everyone had fun in our tournament to win a trophy for Mums Birthday.
Thank you to the ladies who worked so hard to get the house ready for our arrival in such adverse weather conditions and thank you for the lovely chocolate hamper, we will really enjoy them.
Everyone had a lovely stay and we will certainly recommend to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the number of bedrooms available and the dining room
Liked least: the downstairs bathroom, needs a little attention
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2016
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Big White House and we hope to see you again.

Many Thanks

The Stay Lakeland Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda B
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for a big group”
Reviewed 25 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This house is perfect for a large group of people to get together for special occasions. I hired this for my 30th birthday for 20 people. The dining table was perfect for that amount of people. The kitchen is very well equipped to cook for a large party.
We spent quite a lot of time round the dining table playing games and talking however if you needed some quiet time there was plenty of rooms to sit in on the comfortable chairs.
The pool room was a hit with everyone in my party. plenty of games of Killer Pool was played throughout the weekend.
The bedrooms were good sizes with fantastic views.
Throughout the day some people went to the markets in Keswick which is about 20 minutes away whilst the others went to the Barn Bistro which was only a 10 minute walk from the house. The food in there was very good.
I will definitely be recommending this house to my family and friends and will be booking again in the future/

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2015
Thank you for your review Amanda! Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Big White House.

Kind Regards

The Stay Lakeland Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie1604
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hen Party”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

A group of 17 hens stayed at the big white house 13-15th November to celebrate a hen party. The house was perfect for what we wanted to do and we have had a genuinely unforgettable experience. Everyone commented on how lovely all the rooms were, the dining and lounge area downstairs were fantastic for eating and playing games/ dancing etc, while the upstairs lounges were perfect for rest and relaxation and watching some chick flicks. We enjoyed the pool room and even managed to get outside (despite the weather!) for a game of rounders in the garden. The kitchen is very well equipped and it was easy to cater for everyone. It was a home away from home for a very special occasion and we can't wait for the next opportunity to come back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The dining room
Liked least: Wi-fi a bit slow, but to be expected
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2015
Thank you for your review! We are so pleased you had a great time at the Big White House.

We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards

The Stay Lakeland Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$444
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing