We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect long weekend get-away”
other travellers have booked this property
Brunt House - Newly refurbished
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brunt House - Newly refurbished
Loughrigg Tarn is a short walk from the house View from all rooms in Brunt House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Brunt House - Newly refurbished
Loughrigg Tarn is a short walk from the house
View from all rooms in Brunt House
Brunt House
Stunning Views!
Lovely gardens
Brunt House
Kitchen/Dining Room
Dining Table
The dining room
The Grand Drawing Room
Cosy Log Fire
Relax in the Italian leather sofas
The Library
Three bedroom suites
Bedroom views
Bath robes included
All en-suite luxury bathrooms
Soak in one of the cast iron roll-top bath tubs
Master bedroom suite
Views from the Master Bedroom
Anyone for chess - or a PS4 game?
Table football/foosball
Penthouse bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kasia P
1 review
“Perfect long weekend get-away”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We had a truly splendid time in this wonderful house. The accommodation exceeded our expectations, the property being a great combination of traditional and modern exploiting its location and views to the full.
All the bedrooms have beautifully designed en-suite bathrooms, plenty of storage and stunning views across the magnificent Cumbrian landscape. The beds were super comfy and we went away wishing we had such speedy internet in London!
Apart from the fantastic hikes and walks we managed to eat in some great places: from 2 star Michelin restaurant to nearby gastro-pub and riverside cafe for breakfast.
We will definitely be coming back again!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2015
Thanks for your review - glad you enjoyed your stay at Brunt House.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al1Stockt...
Stockton-on-Tees
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Special Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed 20 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

The house is even better than advertised, just beautiful It is like staying at a five star hotel but on a room only basis. The added advantage is having a lovely living room and kitchen plus games room to chill out in.
We had a bit of an adventure in that we had local flooding which closed the roads so we needed advice from the owner. He was extremely helpful and obliging which we really appreciated.
We are already in the process of re-booking for next year and cannot recommend highly enough.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2015
Thank you for your lovely review of Brunt House. So pleased that you have booked again for next year. Best wishes, Christopher
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Place - Will definitely be back”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Booked for a long weekend break. Superbly appointed interior, attention to detail spot on. Welcome groceries and wine was a lovely touch.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2015
Thank you Simon for your review. Gaynor and I are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Brunt House.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRBespoke...
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Birthday To Remember”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

If you are looking for the perfect location to tour the Lake District,then look no further than Brunt House.
The only difficulty is wanting to leave this beautifully converted stunning home.
This impressive house offers privacy and peace and quiet,yet only a short drive to Ambleside and is also close to Lakeland pubs,restaurants and cafes.
The interior has both a modern and traditional feel and with huge bedrooms and en suites throughout,this property will be suitable for friends and families to share.
We cannot find a fault and this house is truly 5 star and world class.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for your review. We hope you can visit the Lake District again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariam S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I stayed here with my young family over the bank holiday and this place is amazing. Beautifully located and the service was 5 star.

We hope to go back again soon!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2015
Thank you Mariam for your review. Gaynor and I were so pleased that you enjoyed the Lake District.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$562
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing