We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for Ghandi’s gourmet goodies!”
Review of Gandhi's Cafe

Gandhi's Cafe
Ranked #4 of 108 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$14
Description: Vegetarian and vegan world cooking inspired by our travels. A friendly, relaxed atmosphere with funky tunes, locally roasted coffee, vegan beers, organic vegan wine and home-made sweet treats. Indian, Thai, plus hemp burgers, soups, sandwiches, soups, salads and our all-day breakfast. All dishes are available as vegan, lots of gluten free options and we're dog friendly
Restaurant details
Description: Vegetarian and vegan world cooking inspired by our travels. A friendly, relaxed atmosphere with funky tunes, locally roasted coffee, vegan beers, organic vegan wine and home-made sweet treats. Indian, Thai, plus hemp burgers, soups, sandwiches, soups, salads and our all-day breakfast. All dishes are available as vegan, lots of gluten free options and we're dog friendly
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a tasty treasure! Friendly staff, filling and fantastic food. Not vegetarian? Me neither - don’t miss out though, the food truly was delicious! Highly recommended.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Resort51584270124
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great vegan food, good value for money and very tasty! Would definitely recommend and will come back here next time we are in Ambleside. Lots of choices on the menu :-)

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank itsnotallaboutthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went for breakfast and was pleased to see a great selection. The food was excellent, well priced and allergen friendly.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank W3830JAthomask
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Being a vegetarian family, we had picked out Gandhi's cafe as a great sounding option and arrived there on one of the days during our lake district holiday. There was a short queue of 2 other families before us, but there is limited seating in the cafe. We waited in queue for nearly an hour, during which time the cafe staff did not once speak to us although they did speak to a couple of others stood outside ordering takeaways. We had to grab their attention with difficulty to ask them about wanting a table for 4, and they said it would be another 15 minutes. The 15 minutes turned to 30, it was now 3.30 pm and finally, and only after us asking, they said they had now run out of food sorry! Our main gripe with all this is that they did not have the courtesy to inform queuing families that they were busy and were unlikely to be able to accommodate us, and that food was running out. My husband was on crutches and if they had just bothered to tell us sooner, it would have saved us the unnecessary waste of time.

Date of visit: August 2021
2  Thank Girija_Dabke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We're not vegans or even veggies but the breakfast here was my favourite and at least in the top two for my friends.

Ghandi's is a small café but they are really efficient, the service is exceptional.

Bubble and Squeak, veggie haggis.....absolutely delicious.

Faultless experience.

You are spoilt for choice in Ambleside, we had three fantastic breakfasts here. Well worth popping in on our way northwards.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank RazzyBthefirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Gandhi's Cafe also viewed

 
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Gandhi's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.