We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous 3 days rest in Luxurious accomodation.”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Jenny's Croft

Jenny's Croft, 5* rated, two bedroom ensuite Grade II listed sandstone barn conversion
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Jenny's Croft, 5* rated, two bedroom ensuite Grade II listed sandstone barn conversion
The view over the Eden Valley from the garden of Jenny's Croft.  Great walks in the local area The gated sandstone terrace to the rear of Jenny's Croft opens up to raised beds and its rear lawn.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Jenny's Croft, 5* rated, two bedroom ensuite Grade II listed sandstone barn conversion
The view over the Eden Valley from the garden of Jenny's Croft.  Great walks in the local area
The gated sandstone terrace to the rear of Jenny's Croft opens up to raised beds and its rear lawn.
Jenny's Croft open plan living room with log burning fire
The dining area with an antique oak refectory table opening through to the Breakfasting Kitchen
The breakfasting kitchen with electric hob, oven, dishwasher and American style fridge freezer
The kitchen opens to the rear sandstone terrace. A well stocked welcome hamper awaits new arrivals.
The spacious Master Bedroom has a five foot antique bed and an ensuite bathroom
The ensuite Master Bedroom bathroom with a cast iron bath and a skylight in the cathedral ceiling
The second ensuite bedroom with shower room can be arranged with a 6 foot king bed or as 2 twin beds
The second ensuite bedroom with a shower room may also be arranged as two twin beds if preferred
The gated private sandstone terrace opens from the kitchen door.  Weber BBQ and charcoal provided.
Breakfast on the terrace with raised beds and wooded fields behind.
The view across the rear garden and terrace of and onto the Pennines
The courtyard garden, sustainable teak garden furniture provided for guest use
Jenny's Croft open plan garden
Cherry tree in bloom in front of the cottage which is accessed from private gravelled parking area
The fields across the lane from Jennys Croft show the beautiful landscape of the Eden Valley
One of the public footpaths by the River Eden which is walking distance from Jennys Croft
The fields across from Jennys Croft in the summertime with the Pennines in the distance
The view over the lane from Jennys Croft in the wintertime, little noise pollution in this area.
The sandstone walled lane across from Jennys Croft and the Pennines in the snow
The National Lottery funded playground in the village of Glassonby, an easy walk from Jennys Croft
The view over Jennys Croft and its gardens from its gravelled private parking area
Jenny's Croft aerial view
Great golfing in the local area
A view over the lakes and fells
Dalemain Country house and gardens - excellent teas and lovely gardens
Hiking trails
This was the view at the top of Honister slate mine
Switzerland of the North!
Our son quadbiking at Rookin House
Fishing on the Eden
Levens Hall medieval topiary gardens
Hutton in the Forest stately home and gardens
Sailing at Glenridding
Discover Historic Penrith
Aira Force owned by The National Trust great for walking
Steamers on Lake Ullswater
Rheghed - A Lake District attraction for family activities, shopping, cinema and exhibitions
Lady of the Lake historic steamer on Ullswater
Sunset over Ullswater
Map of Ullswater
Steamer leaving Howtown
Summit of Hallin Fell
Aerial View of Ullswater
Ullswater in the Spring
Ullswater in the snow
Ullswater Steamers 'Raven'
Lady Wakefield
Historic Steamer on Ullswater
Long Meg & Her Daughters Bronze Age Stone Circle between Little Salkeld & Glassonby
Lacy's Caves by the River Eden at Glassonby
Lacy's Caves
See if you can spot any Red Squirrels around Glassonby
Lowther Castle & Gardens, Penrith
The Lost Castle - Adventure Playground at Lowther Castle
The Lost Castle - Adventure Playground at Lowther Castle
Penrith at Christmas
Lakelands Autumn colours
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John P
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous 3 days rest in Luxurious accomodation.”
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My wife and I booked Jenny's Croft for a 3 night break to celebrate her milestone birthday. We invited two long term friends as our guests.
The building is of an extremely high standard and spacious. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything four people would need during the stay and the welcome basket of wine and other goodies were the best we have ever seen and we've seen a lot over the years.
The living room is huge, comfortable and has the most wonderful log burner centrally in the room. We used it on two occasions, just because we could and to enhance t he ambience. (sorry for using so many logs but it eats them)
Free internet is provided which was really appreciated and helped us plan our daytime trips. (Siloth and Gretna Green)
We cooked a special meal on our 1st night, ate a lovely meal at the Crown Inn in Kirkoswald about 2 miles away on the 2nd. This is a lovely country village with pleasant atmosphere with the smell of log/coal fires. The Featherstone Arms was opposite. Both pubs were lovely and welcoming and served food. Its best to book well in advance to avoid disappointment, we did. Parking there was a bit awkward but on both evening visits we parked outside the closed garage at the bottom of the street near the bridge over a stream.
Our third night involved another cooked meal within the kitchen of Jenny's Croft.
The weather during our stay wasn't the best so we didn't spend much time in the gardens which were large and well manicured. A rear patio area had a gas bar-b-que and patio table/chairs which we didn't use.We met Jilly the manager of the estate (we think) She was wonderful and dealt with an unforeseen minor kitchen appliance breakdown with efficiency and an apology. Jilly, thank you so much.
Overall a fantastic stay highly recommended by us all.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2016
Hi thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a detailed and helpful Trip Advisor review following your stay. It's great to hear that you all enjoyed your holiday. We love The Crown and Fetherston Arms pubs also & you are totally right that it's a good idea to book in advance particularly on weekends as they are not big pubs and are super popular with the locals including our family! Thank you for your compliments to Jilly and her hard working team and it's great that she was able to get the electric hob breakdown resolved on the Saturday of your stay. We hope to have the chance to welcome you all for another visit sometime soon! Thank you again for choosing to come to Jenny's Croft for your holiday. Best regards Christine, Charlie and Jilly

P.S. Just as a point of clarification, we provide a Weber charcoal BBQ at all of our cottages and also supply all of the equipment for this, firelighters and locally sourced charcoal for our guests to use during their stay. We store the BBQ in a weather proof cover on the rear terrace so it is not obvious what sort of BBQ it is until it is used.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheeky-m0...
2 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Absolutely amazing!!
Lovely place!
Had an fabulous 2 night stay, everything was provided, people were friendly and welcoming

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2016
Hi, Thank you for leaving this review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Jenny's Croft and had a fabulous break. We would be thrilled to welcome you back for a future visit please get in touch next time you are planing a trip to Cumbria and The Lake District. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Barn & set lovely country site a little bit of paridise away from the hustle & bustle”
Reviewed 6 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We have been back to Rowley Estates several times & stayed in different properties each time & we have not been disappointed yet.
All the properties have always been exceptionally clean & tidy, the are fully equipped with every thing you could possible need, including all the towels, soaps, shampoo etc
The welcome basket is another lovely touch & is always so handy if you get there late.
The fact they are all Dog friendly makes them even more attractive to us & as our Pugs as both love the Lake District & staying in the Barns its home from home.
We always hire a Hot Tub from Cumbrian Hot each time which makes the stay even more relaxing :)
I would not hesitate to recommend any of the properties to both couples & families as they can cater for most size parties.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log burner & Hot Tub
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2016
Hi,
Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review of your recent holiday at Jenny's Croft. It's great to hear that you all had such a relaxing stay at the cottage especially with the added extra of the Hot Tub !!!
It's such a great area for your Pugs too with so many nice walks locally. Thank you so much for the recommendation of our cottages and we do hope that we can welcome you back again next time you are planning another trip to Cumbria and the Lake District.
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaJH
Epping, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous retreat!”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Jenny's Croft is the most amazing holiday cottage and perfect for our 'getaway' to the Lake District. Every minute detail had been thought of to make our stay so memorable. With the beautiful weather that accompanied our stay we couldn't have wished for more. 'Amazing, awesome, fabulous' what more can
we say! Can't wait to return in the near future. Thankyou!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Hi,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your recent holiday at Jenny's Croft. We really appreciate your feedback and it was great to hear that you had such a lovely time at the cottage and had such great weather as well !!!
We would love to welcome you back again and please feel free to get back in touch next time you are planning a trip to Cumbria and the Lake District.
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackiepat...
Billingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ace”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We were all blown away with this cottage absolutely delightful bigger than it looks in the photo. Clean and tidy and the views are spectacular . We had a three night stay but wished we could of stayed a couple of more days. The hamper and fresh fruit was an added bonus. Our grandaughter loved running around the beautiful gardens. Luckily we had fine weather. The owners have thought of everything. We will give this place a big fat Ace.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Hi, Thank you for writing this review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Jenny's Croft and it's super to hear your grandaughter had fun in the gardens. Thank you also for your kind comments they are very much appreciated by us and our team. Please get in touch next time you are planning a trip to Cumbria & The Lake District we would be thrilled to welcome you and your grandaughter back. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$202
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing