We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“WOW FACTOR”

Review of Elk Cottage

Elk Cottage rear gated terrace and open plan gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Elk Cottage rear gated terrace and open plan gardens
A view from the upper lawned gardens of Elk Cottage down to the private courtyard garden The courtyard garden with teak garden furniture, a Weber BBQ and locally sourced charcoal for guests
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Elk Cottage rear gated terrace and open plan gardens
A view from the upper lawned gardens of Elk Cottage down to the private courtyard garden
The courtyard garden with teak garden furniture, a Weber BBQ and locally sourced charcoal for guests
The kitchen and utility room at Elk Cottage with dishwasher, microwave and washing machine / dryer
The well equipped kitchen at Elk Cottage, guests receive a generous welcome hamper and wine
The courtyard garden at Elk Cottage looking towards the raised flower beds leading up to the lawns
A great place to relax at the end of the day exploring in the Lake District and the Pennines
The Dining Room at Elk Cottage has french doors opening out onto a lawned area
The Dining Room opens through to the reception room with a cast iron wood burning fire
Elk Cottage living room with wood burning fire
The ensuite Master Bedroom with a five foot king size antique oak bed and 2nd private entrance
Another view of the Master Bedroom with an antique linen fold carved king size bed
The Master Bedroom ensuite bathroom with a shower over the cast iron bath
The second ensuite bedroom at Elk Cottage with a super king six foot bed and hand painted wardrobe
The second ensuite bedroom has a 6 foot bed that can be arranged as twins as requested
The second bedroom ensuite shower room with a rainfall shower and chrome heated towel rail
Elk Cottage Floor Plan - Access Statements available on our website The Rowley Estates
Elk Cottage is a 5* rated Grade II listed sandstone cottage with two ensuite BRs and wood fire
The summertime view from Glassonby over the Eden Valley to the Pennines
The Eden River footpath near Daleraven within walking distance from Elk Cottage
Neighbours in the village of Glassonby and the early morning view over the Estate
The National Lottery funded playground in the village, walking distance from Elk Cottage
The wintertime view from the lane leading to Elk Cottage across our family farm
The view to the Pennines from the village of Glassonby
The nearby village of Melmerby in the foothills of the Pennines with a great bakery & village shop
Sailing on Ullswater
The Lady of the Lake
Lady Wakefield
Dalemain historic house and lovely gardens
Fabulous hiking
A view over Ullswater in the early morning
The top of Honister slate mines in the wintertime
Hutton in the Forest historical home and parkland
Daffodils by the Lake
Great fishing
Our son quadbiking at Rookin House Farm
The Ullswater Steamers
Levens Hall amazing ancient topiary gardens
Sailing on Ullswater
The market town of Penrith
Aira Force managed by The National Trust ideal for walking
The Lady of the Lake - historic steamer on Ullswater
Sunset over Ullswater
Ullswater
Map of Ullswater
Rheged - a Lake Disrtict attraction with family activities, shopping, cafes, cinema and exhibitions
Steamer on Ullswater leaving Howtown
Ullswater in Spring
Ullswater in the snow
Summit of Hallin Fell overlooking Ullswater
Aerial view of Ullswater
Lowther Castle & Gardens, Penrith
The Lost Castle - Adventure Playground at Lowther Castle
The Lost Castle - Adventure Playground at Lowther Castle
Penrith at Christmas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
777jackso...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“WOW FACTOR”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Upon arrival at cottage the views were wonderful. The outside area was clean and very well planned with named car parking. Once we entered cottage it was breath taking, it was warm and welcoming and felt like home. Each room was excellent , tastefully decorated and exceptionally clean. The kitchen had everything you require at home. But with high standards of a hotel. The whole cottage had a warm happy feeling that was so cozy. We would of stayed longer. The photos can't tell the story of this lovely cottage. Even if weather poor you would still be content staying in cottage. The team were brilliant from start of booking right through to helping us find cottage, We would certainly book again the whole service and communication was faultless. It created a lovely memory for my family to keep, thank you all .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The extra home from home items offered for use.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2015
Hi, Thank you for taking your time to write this fantastic review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and all your great comments are much appreciated by all of our team, I will make sure they all get to see them. We would be delighted to welcome you all back again to Elk Cottage or indeed any of our other properties, please get in touch if you are planning a future trip to Cumbria and the Lake District. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful cottage, far from the madding crowd”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed Elk Cottage. Quiet, beautiful location. The team at Rowley Estates were responsive and most helpful. We loved the quality and tranquility of this cottage. We also loved the many good eating and visiting recommendations in the cottage binder. We have two girls 6 and 8 and this was a great experience for them. Even being allowed to come into the paddock opposite by the farmer and feed the dairy cows. Highly recommend Elk Cottage.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2015
Hi, Thank you for taking your time to write this great review regarding Elk Cottage. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments are much appreciated by all and I will pass them round the team. We would be delighted to welcome you back again to Elk Cottage or any of our other properties. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie and Jilly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wainen
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Plush Perfection”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Amazing. Stunning. Luxurious. Spacious. Idyllic... I could go on! If you have any doubts about staying here, banish them! Elk Cottage is truly beautiful. My favourite feature, apart from having breakfast on the secluded rear terrace garden, star-gazing on the lawn, cooking in the well-equipped kitchen, relaxing in the quaint lounge in front of the log fire, wandering the lanes admiring the breath-taking scenery, fruit picking in the nearby raspberry farm, dining in local pubs, soaking up the peace & quiet of Glassonby... Apart from ALL that, my absolute favourite feature was undoubtably the master bedroom. Wow - what a room! It was generous, beautifully furnished, immaculately clean (as was the rest of the property - inside & out), tastefully decorated in fresh & calming tones, had an enormous bed that we melted into and had an original stone staircase that led onto the outdoor space and driveway. Oh my gosh - we now want to live here!

I am now viewing the other Rowley Estate properties for a birthday get-away. We can't wait.

Thanks to all for the attention to detail, the retention of original features and the top-notch finish throughout. Pure bliss.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Hi,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a great review of your recent stay at Elk Cottage. We really appreciate your positive feedback and will pass this back to Jilly and her team. We hope to be able to welcome you all back again later this year.

Best regards,
Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Jul 2015
Hi, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We are all really pleased that enjoyed your stay at Elk Cottage. It is very much appreciated that you wrote in such detail about the properties and grounds. I will pass on your appreciation to all of our team. We would love to be able to welcome you all back again to stay at anyone of our cottages. Kind regards, Charlie, Christine and Jilly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Level of service
Liked least: Ther is nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 May 2015
Hi, Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Elk Cottage and were not disappointed. The surrounding area really is beautiful and the walk through Lacy's Caves along the river to Long Meg is beautiful. We all really look forward to welcoming you back to stay at Riverain. Kind regards Charles, Christine and Jilly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$211
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing