We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Weekend”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bay View House

Bay View - Silverdale
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bay View - Silverdale
BBQ area Driveway
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
46 reviews
Bay View - Silverdale
BBQ area
Driveway
Jacuzzi
View from house
The view from the house
Over an acre of house grounds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
11 Bedrooms, 11 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pam H
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mixed emotions”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We've had a lovely week in this very spacious property which has fantastic views. We did feel however that the property needed some TLC and attention to maintenance. The garden was a health and safety risk for children ie. the children's play area was dangerous and needed to be fenced off, a very overgrown pond at the bottom of the drive was an accident waiting to happen! In the house we had electrical and plumbing problems which were speedily dealt with by Andrew the manager. This is potentially a wonderful venue for large groups, it is a clean and versatile property, which has a few maintenance issues.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position
Liked least: Things not working and overflowing bins.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derekgrim
Leyland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Weekend”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We rented Bay View for a Family Celebration and needed a lot of accomodation as there are 24 of us, the venue suited our needs almost exactly, from the attic dorms for the elder grandchildren, (although the 6 foot ones forund the low ceiling a bit of a challenge), to the on suite accomodation for us more mature types.
Taking four dogs was no problem either, the close proximity of Holgates Caravan Park gave us an oportunity for a swim, lots of lovely walks, although being blessed with reasonable weather helped, wi fi, decent TV, large living room and dining kitchen, well equiped with crockery and pans although the induction hob did cause a few fraught moments.
Perhaps we did not read the small print closely enough but the lack of towels did catch us out,.
Throughly recomended but do not expect the Ritz

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timmackey...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

House is comfortable and located well for so many activities. Great view, it's true that Morceambe Bay never looks the same twice

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoBolton4...
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great weekend had by all”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A large group of all ages (6months -70) had a fantastic weekend away at Bay View. Saying that our group would have a great time anywhere.
Other reviewers have stated the property is a bit tired and I would agree in places. The upstairs bedrooms were much better than the downstairs in my opion. The jacuzzi bath in the conservatory didn't work and the shower on the same part of the house was also not working.
I had asked the owner if champagne flutes were at the property to which he confirmed there were. On checking there was only one. We luckily rectified this by asking a later guest to bring some along. This seems a petty thing to write about but as I'd asked,it did peeve me slightly.
The kids all had a whale of a time exploring and up in the games room.
The beds were comfortable and the property was relativly clean (although the main living room smelled musty).
On the whole I would recommend this property as long as you're not expecting all mod cons. It's comfortable and excellent for those with children as you don't have to constantly follow them round picking up after them or worrying if they might break something.
My main gripe is that I am still waiting a week for my security deposit to be refunded. I emailed the manager straight away but it seems the owners are on a extended holiday and are maybe enjoying a few cocktails with my hard earned cash? (Jokes) Please return it so I can perhaps look at re-booking for next year!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123saraho
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent size and layout to hold 20 friends for fun week away”
Reviewed 5 March 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We all loved it! The house is like a fun maze, with rooms all over the place. The teens played hide and seek for a whole day, in the house and into the garden, a great hit! Excellent use of space, with smaller rooms to sit and read or do jigsaws or just chat quietly. The games room was a huge hit with the teens and adults alike! The beds were very comfy and extra bedding could be found in the airing cupboard, when we realised we forgot our extra pillows etc. The house is warm and comfy. You are not getting the plushness of the Hilton, but then you are not paying Hilton prices. It was very clean, tidy, cosy and serviceable, the kitchen has plenty of pots, pans and utensils. Walks are on your door step, which we enjoyed and the scenery was beautiful. The stars on a clear night were breathtaking, we all popped out and star gazed in wonder. Tim the manager was on hand quickly when we broke the toilet, ( sorry Tim), but he was lovely about it. We have been doing group holidays for years and this house was the most fun, clean and comfy. Big happy thumbs up.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$418
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing