We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and great atmosphere- 5 stars!”
Review of The Camerton

The Camerton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$34
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: We serve homemade, locally sourced (where possible), quality British traditional pub food. We have a separate restaurant for formal dining & a large bar for a more relaxed service. We aim to provide the best Sunday carvery in the area, please let us know if we are achieving this. Families are welcome.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had our tea at The Camerton tonight and couldn’t fault it. Hands down the best Lasagne I’ve ever had! The deserts are also to die for!
Food was delicious and hot, and the staff were very warm, friendly and welcoming, which I find some places lack.
Amazing food and attentive staff & your onto a winner! Oh and Pepsi that doesn’t taste like soda water like most pubs, just topped the meal off for us!
5 stars! ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank xterri26x
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 1,289 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were on holiday when we decided to eat at the Camerton. The pub Looks very appealing on the outside, beautiful decor on the inside and a nice kids playground on the front.
The staff are so lovely and attentive, the lady in charge appeared within minutes of us taking our seats with menus to say one of the waitresses/waiters will be with us in a few minutes, she explained she had 2 orders before ours so wouldn’t be long. She also engaged with our 2 children aged 7 and 18 months which I felt was so lovely as normally people don’t do that. I’m sorry I don’t remember her name but she had short dark hair and glasses, she has a lovely manner and a really nice way with her customers. Easy to talk to and nothing was too much trouble.
I really liked the fact that we were sat in what appeared to be the family room, taking children out can sometimes be a worry as I would never want to upset other people who are having a quiet meal. So the fact that we were in an area for families instantly made us feel more relaxed.
The food is fantastic! Lots of choice, hot, good portion sizes, good value for money and the kids menu is 3 courses for £5.99 which is great value.
Well worth a visit, cannot recommend this pub enough. Thank you to the lady in charge and all the staff, they are a credit to the Camerton.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Deb_7-stone
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On holiday down here and saw the pub when driving through, had the lasagne and Wensleydale steak. Absolutely delicious, couldn’t fault it at all, will definitely go for a meal again!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank ALMJSA2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We’ve not visited Camerton in around 3 years but decided to visit after a lot of positive reviews regarding food/drink and staff. I rang at lunchtime and managed to get a table booked for this afternoon. We were greeted by a lady who introduced herself, showed us to our table and gave us the information on the menu and carvery and took our drinks order - I was impressed with being given the children’s menu without having to ask for one. The meal itself was lovely, the steak pie is next level but..

I asked for the garlic bread to come with the children’s meal opposed to a ‘starter’ and got told that would be fine, the garlic bread never arrived
we had two on our table who got the Sunday dinner - we had a waitress come to our table before the rest of the meals arrived (again impressed with) to tell us that we could go get our carvery, due to the kids it was easier going 1 by 1, carvery number 2 arrived back to the table with only little veg and plate 1/2 full compared to what he would normally get, this was due to no carrots, little peas/sweet corn and no green beans in the warmers. He presumed they’d ran out so didn’t question it.

Now had we have had a member of staff come back to our table to ask if our meals were ok, then I could have said about the garlic bread and about the vegetables but that wasn’t the case.
it was only when we had finished that a man came over (not in uniform as the waitress was) and asked if we had finished, I did make him aware and he said he would go get them - by this point we’d all finished and the kids were asking for ice cream and he was past the point of wanting veg due to no one coming to the table to see if anything was ok. Although the food was nice, it could have been better if the customer service was better, the kids would have got the garlic bread and the one for carvery would have had more veg on his plate. An apology wouldn’t have gone a miss given the bill was nearly £80

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Y6594FLvanessas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Today again visited the camerton and had the excellent Sunday carvery again another top mark 5 out of 5. The service was top class and just what I needed before tomorrow heading off on a train journey to Argeles near perpignan South of France. And there will be living off wonderful French food including frogs legs le scargot snails and many more delicacies.But none will beat today's meal .
Well done to all the staff and the kitchen team.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank mallyelmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Camerton also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to The Camerton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.