We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Sunday lunch.”
Review of Toad Rock Retreat

Toad Rock Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$23
Cuisines: Pub
Description: iconic local pub situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty serving a selection of local and national ales and wines with great pub food in a very stylish but cosy atmosphere. Nick and Shelley offer you all a warm welcome.,
Restaurant details
Description: iconic local pub situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty serving a selection of local and national ales and wines with great pub food in a very stylish but cosy atmosphere. Nick and Shelley offer you all a warm welcome.,
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I went with my 82 year old mum. The staff were friendly, welcoming and kind;even offering to bring my mum extra cushions for her seat. We all had roast beef with all the trimmings. All was well cooked and the beef delicious with a good selection of vegetables. Mum was able to have a 'child's' portion. Puddings were just as delicious. A perfect relaxed Sunday lunch. Restaurant was busy and had a lovely atmosphere with friends, families and couples. Recommend booking.

Thank Nicola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelley p, Owner at Toad Rock Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thankyou for your lovely review Nicola and so glad mum had what she needed and enjoyed it- lovely to serve you all and hope you will come again soon
Nick, Shell and Team Toad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My wife & I have enjoyed several meals & parties here.The Pub is full of character & tastefully decorated

Thank cagga1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelley p, Owner at Toad Rock Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thankyou very much Cagga1 we hope to see you back soon
Nick, Shell and Team Toad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

Tucked away between Tunbridge Wells and Rustall, this is gem of a pub. Not open for lunch every day, but we'll worth the visit.

Dropped in for a one-course lunch and were made most welcome. The food choice is impressive and we were very content with our selection.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

We visited this pub because of the excellent reviews and we weren’t disappointed. Really friendly staff, made us and our dog very welcome - he says thanks for the treat! - and great food. Two of us are vegetarian and there were plenty of options on the menu. Would definitely recommend.

Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelley p, Owner at Toad Rock Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Thankyou for your lovely review- glad you enjoyed our veggie options and doggy did too!
Thanks for coming
Nick, Shell Nd Team Toad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

We had only a few hours with some very dear old friends. They ended a cruise at Greenwich and were due to catch a flight from Gatwick. A look at Google Maps suggested that Royal Tunbridge Wells would be a sensible place to stop for lunch. Then, of course, I relied on TripAdvisor to find a suitable restaurant. We chose Toad Rock and found our way to this beautifully situated old pub. Being Sunday lunch time, the obvious choice was the Sunday Dinner with all the trimmings. The setting, the warm, friendly service and a good Sunday dinner were just what we needed. I'm happy to recommend the Toad Rock Retreat.

Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelley p, Owner at Toad Rock Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Thankyou for your great review- really glad you enjoyed your visit
Nick,Shell and Team Toad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toad Rock Retreat also viewed

Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Matfield, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 

Been to Toad Rock Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing