We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely little gem”

Review of Ford Cottage

Outside Ford Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside Ford Cottage
Breakfast Area - Hayloft Hayloft - kitchen area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Outside Ford Cottage
Breakfast Area - Hayloft
Hayloft - kitchen area
Hayloft - Studio Flat
Outside Ford Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Lisa W
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely little gem”
Reviewed 16 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I recently stayed for a couple of days. It was a wonderful little place close to The Pantiles and about 5 mins walk to the shops. Also about 2 mins walk to Sainsburys

The owners were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.

It was the little touches like fresh milk in the fridge on arrival, little chocolates etc. which made it for us.

I would recommend to anyone, and would definitely stay there again

We were definitely not Disgusted of Tunbridge!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the owners
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john_stev...
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect location.”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My wife and I stayed in the Hayloft and found it to be a very comfortable, clean and well equipped. Also very close to all amenities you could want, e.g restaurant's shops and town centre. We had a great welcome with flowers, chocolates, wine and even milk in the fridge for a drink of tea on arrival. Bus stops are very close by so if you want to leave the car on the on site parking, saves the driving for a couple of days. We were self catering the only downside is lack of an oven and grill, but this is possibly a safety issue which we understand. Thanks again Roger and Wendy for a lovely stay, John and Marion.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are always so delighted when our guests enjoy their stay in this historic part of Tunbridge Wells.. A Microwave oven, which is capable of roasting, and a 4 pan electric hob is provided, and we are always searching for a small oven/grill unit, the right size, that will fit in the kitchen area. However, we very much value your comments. Kind Regards - Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnie Y
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great Place Gracious Host”
Reviewed 16 March 2016 for a stay in October 2014

This was a great find as we were visiting my husband's parents who lived 2 hours apart & Tunbridge Wells was the mid-way point. The host was very helpful; stayed up till midnight waiting for our arrival, which took longer than expected because we kept getting lost.

The property was nestled in a leafy upscale neighborhood. We had the studio atop of the garage, which used to be the stable. The place was cozy with plenty of English charm. The kitchenette was well equipped. Downstairs there was a bathroom & laundry facility.

A sizable Tesco was around the corner & a small town center with restaurants & shops was within walking distance.

We actually stayed there in 2012 but I only just found the listing on tripadvisor so I am posting late. We tried to rent the place again for Christmas 2014 but it was already booked. I'd definitely return to this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2016
Thank you for your kind words..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
awomer
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Holiday Let in our expereince”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Ideally located for visiting Tunbridge Wells, easy walking distance to town centre and places of interest, yet still a quiet, peaceful attractive setting. We rented the Hayloft studio apartment which although compact included every facility possible, and proved ideal for our purposes. Very clean and tidy, very well presented, comfortable beds, excellent local information provided, friendly and accommodating yet unobtrusive owners. A great discovery, hope to return and would have no hesitation in recommending this cottage

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and facilities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGWNN
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great studio room for self catering”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Ford Cottage was very close to the 'Pantiles' the best attraction in Tunbridge Wells where several restaurants and coffee places are to be found. The owner, Roger, made us very welcome and meticulously showed how every thing worked. Room was quiet and very comfortable. Would stay there again for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: More space than a hotel room and convenient location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing