We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Russell Hotel(Royal Tunbridge Wells)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Smart and Simple Hotel(Royal Tunbridge Wells)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Royal Wells Hotel(Royal Tunbridge Wells)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One Warwick Park Hotel(Royal Tunbridge Wells)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells(Royal Tunbridge Wells)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel(Royal Tunbridge Wells)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells(Royal Tunbridge Wells)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Spa Hotel(Royal Tunbridge Wells)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Salomons Estate(Royal Tunbridge Wells)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (986)
Filter reviews
986 results
Traveller rating
435
276
156
92
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
435
276
156
92
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroll top bathmonsoon showersuperior roomwalk in showernespresso machineafternoon teaprawnswine listspecial occasionmain coursequeen victorialovely hotelmini baran upgradeoverlooking the gardenfresh milksunday lunch
Filter
Updating list...
437 - 442 of 986 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2015

Ok, so in terms of good value, this is excellent. £25 for four courses is very good. Soup was adequate (we both agreed I make better), then there's a charcuterie / sea food /salad buffet which is excellent. We had the roast beef which was superb (there was a lot of choice) followed by a good plate of cheese.
So, why only average? Well, it was all just a wee bit lazy. We sat at our table and ordered a bottle of wine. The soup came. No wine. Oh, and no bread for the soup. We chased both. The bread came - eventually. Still no wine. We chased again. We'd finished our soup when a flustered young lady came over, explaining that the wine we had chosen wasn't available and offering a substitute. That happens, that's fine- but it took us 15 minutes to get there!
Just basic, easy to sort out issues that spoilt the lunch. Then when we took coffee in the bar we had the delights of three screaming children rushing backwards and forwards through the room while their idiot parents were in the lounge opposite, oblivious. When the kids started wrecking the Christmas tree, staff intervened -and to be fair to them, I don't know how you deal with your guests' lack of parenting skills, but for me it just kind of cemented the whole disappointing experience.
Must try harder IMHO

Stayed: October 2015
Thank Granty60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki D, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2015

Dear Granty60,

Thank you for leaving your recent review on trip advisor which I have read with disappointment. It is unfortunate the wine and bread took too long to get to your table and for this I can only apologise, there are simply no excuses. Although families are welcome any day we do consider Sunday's to be the most important for relations to 'get together', The staff here are considerate of all guests and will only intervene when we feel it is necessary. I am only sorry that guests that day caused you any upset.

I do hope you will consider returning.

Kind regards

Nikki Dorkings
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2015 via mobile

We stayed in a superior double - cottage room. The room was way smaller than we'd expected. The room had a bathroom located down a narrow flight of stairs, the shower is not built for anyone over 6' 2" but had a large bathtub for soaking. Our room was located next to a busy street and was noisy during the day. The room we stayed in was very tight on space, we had no where to unpack for three nights, plus no air circulation, the street lamp glare caused a lack of decent sleep as one of the windows onto the street was not covered. We had breakfast for three days and one lunch in the hotel restaurant, the food was well prepared and we were satisfied with the service. The staff were friendly and helpful. We were able to park in front of the hotel without problem.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki D, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2015

Dear Richard P,

Thank you for your recent review on trip advisor. Please be assured that we have taken your feedback seriously and currently looking into solutions for the window with light coming through at night. Our listed building houses many rooms of shapes and sizes and may not suit all tastes. Please be aware that our reception staff would be delighted to go through the options on, hopefully, your next visit to us. Thank you for your kind comments of the food and staff, I will certainly pass this onto them.

With kind regards

Nikki Dorkings
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2015 via mobile

Good hotel in a great location in Tunbridge Wells. Parking needs to be organised in advance if one wants to park on site. Check in marginally better here than in the Henley hotel du Vin. Rooms were very good and food excellent. Slightly muddled restuarant but perseverance won through. Pleasant gardens for summer lunch or drinks. Overall a very good place to stay.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki D, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2015

Dear Paul M,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of your recent visit to us. I am delighted that you enjoyed our gardens and menu and hope that you will be back over the coming months to enjoy our roaring fire in the bar.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Nikki Dorkings
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2015

Excellent stay at Hotel du Vin and the room was fabulous. It was very spacious and comfortable with everything included that you could wish for. The bed was amazingly comfortable and it was difficult to actually get up!
We ahd dinner at the hotel which was very good although the service was a little hit and miss. For example we ordered some bread to come with our mussels starter but despite chasing it up, it arrived once we had finished!
Breakfast was excellent, very good quality and well cooked, faultless.
All in all we loved staying here and wouldn't hesitate to come back in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainebrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki D, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2015

Dear rainebrighton,

Thank you kindly for your 5 star review of our grand building and the staff. I can only apologise you were let down at dinner and I intend to monitor this closely to ensure that this does not happen again. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards

Nikki Dorkings
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2015

Stayed here for one night Cottage Superior - room was fantastic split level, roll top bath, walk in rainforest shower.
stayed for partners birthday - as a travel agent (stayed in over 100 hotels) didn't get a preferred rates (that's fine) but did tell them it was my partners birthday and just said oh happy birthday at check in. Our room looked onto the main room and was partial covered with a large container / loud generator. Not pleasant.

In regards to hotels - I wish they would tell you a wedding is on the premises when you book - this is the 2nd time this year we've booked a uk break and a wedding has been in residence - we don't really want to be part of the hungover "lads" at breakfast - and HDV had a wedding fayre on the sunday as well!!! We definitely did not know about this when we went to breakfast and was bombarred with offers ! we do not want to get married / be around weddings!
apart from that - fantastic hotel / location.

Stayed: October 2015
2  Thank shanedy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki D, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2015

Dear Shanedy,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. I can only apologise that you were bombarded with wedding promotions on the Sunday during your visit. We will endeavour to find a way of making this clearer to guests when visiting. We are a function venue hotel and again I am sorry if the wedding party caused you any upset. Thank you for your kind words of the hotel in general and our location, I do hope you will consider returning.

Kind regards

Nikki Dorkings
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews