We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveller rating
111
106
63
25
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
106
63
25
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews airy dining room lovely hotel third floor full english one night stay breakfast included car park nice toiletries breakfast service very pleasant stay lovely room bed was comfortable cooked breakfast the pub wedding party beautiful building afternoon tea
Filter
Updating list...
191 - 196 of 324 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We booked two rooms from a block of rooms reserved for a wedding - one room for the adult kids and one for us. The hotel staff handled the rowdy rehearsal dinner and after party bar activity with graciousness and good humor.
Had no complaints until checkout when my daughter, who was waiting in the lobby for my husband and I to come down, overheard the desk clerk say that a guest for the wedding was a no show and someone would have to pay for it. Well, we were the next to check out and guess who had a bill shoved in our face with a demand to pay it! At first they claimed we had booked an extra room and failed to cancel it so therefore we were responsible. It took a lot of reasoning, moving on to raised voices, to get this clerk to back off. The clerk was rude and was not willing to admit that just because a block of rooms had been reserved for the wedding, we weren't on the hook for any guest who didn't show up. I've never experienced something like this and hope that the hotel doesn't make this a common practice.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jmarconi63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

Great wedding reception, but failed in the quality of the food, being squished into the two rooms (overcrowded) and the air conditioning actually made the meal so cold it was unbearable to eat! Shame about the venue really. Great family and friends together though on such a magical day.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank 189julieannj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Professional, friendly and competent service from every member of staff. Brilliant wedding planner if you are looking for some where special for a great day. The staff work hard and listen to you. Really helpful dealing with outside wedding services and sorting everything out the next morning.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

I stayed here with a friend for a special birthday. We got an upgraded suite which was beautiful. There was a copper bath in our room as well as the en suite and a lounge area as well. Coffee machine in our room was a special touch.
Breakfast was tasty with a varied menu.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank P136ERkarenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

We chose the stay at The Royal Wells for one night for a special occasion during the midweek. First impressions of the hotel were good, it's a lovely period property that has been newly renovated to a high standard yet in keeping with its features. It took a little time to check in as there was a party also arriving at the same time but we were shortly shown to our room on the first floor (there is a lift if need be) which was a lovely, if slightly small double room. There was still adequate space with a large wardrobe, tv, double bed, dressing table etc.

Everything was clean and well presented and the bed was comfortable with lovely clean, crisp sheet and very comfortable, plump pillows. The duvet however was too warm for this time of year and the large shash window did not open very much. We still managed a fairly comfortable nights sleep.

I was very impressed with the bathroom as I only expected a shower but was delighted to see a large bath and large bath towels, it was also a very spacious room. There was some noise from the party in the room down the corridor but it had stopped by the time we wanted to go to bed. Also very happy with the breakfast we had in the morning in a lovely conservatory room and the location of the hotel is ideally in the heart of Tunbridge Wells.

Overall a very pleasant stay, would have liked to have paid a little less but everything was done to a high standard so I can't really complain there. Only improvements would be to of had a lighter duvet and a window that could open a bit wider.

Stayed: August 2016
3  Thank 943jal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews