We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very handy location”
The Gate House, Ramsgate
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gate House, Ramsgate
Sitting Room Main Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
The Gate House, Ramsgate
Sitting Room
Main Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Breakfast in the Garden
Broadstairs, a lovely walk
Dumpton Gap, nearest beach
Ramsgate Marina
Pugin's House
Kingsgate Beach, so tranquil
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Janeecarm
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very handy location”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Overall our experience staying at the Gatehouse was super - however I would say that it could be instantly improved by providing linen for the beds. I arrived with three small children and my disabled mum and the last thing I wanted to do when starting a holiday was make beds. It would really have made a difference if this simple thing could have been included. Similarly, if the travel cot could have been put up and made ready this would really have been helpful.

The house is small but quirky, and very well equipped for kitchen and beach. The toy and book cupboard has seen better days. The bathroom was clean. Toilet paper, coffee, tea and some other basics (pasta, oil etc left behind by other guests) were also provided.

The house is right on the edge of the King George VI park, with a kids' playpark within five minutes walk and a bacon sandwich / icecream kiosk within ten. You can get down onto the beach within 15 minutes - lots of interesting shells to look at, and sand to play on depending on the tide. Also, right next door a little tearoom with an interesting 'Century Plant' blooming right out of the roof of the greenhouse.

The beds and rooms were comfortable, and the bathroom was clean. The kitchen was well equipped with utensils and food basics including pasta. tea, coffee etc

The only other issue was the DVD player.....I could not get it to work. I think this may have been because the batteries had gone in the remote control but am not sure. Whatever the cause, it was rather frustrating! Instructions for those unfamiliar with TV/AV stuff might be useful. The toy / book cupboard was a nice thought but everything in it was a little tired. The bucket and spade etc were useful for the beach.

Overall would recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Beds not made up
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz C
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location, lovely building, brilliant games cupboard”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had three nights at The Gate House earlier this month - that's me, my husband, our 4 year old son and our two staffordshire bull terrier puppies. It looked lovely online and did not disappoint in reality. Facilities all good, nothing missing that we needed though it would have been nice to have a BBQ (if there was one there we couldn't find it). Location perfect. Weather could have been better but I guess the owners couldn't control that. The toys cupboard was a very thoughtful touch and my son loved the knights. Deffo double thumbs up. I have already been in touch with the owner to see if we can get another weekend in this Summer but sadly (but not surprisingly) it's booked up.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: I asked my son this and he said 'I liked everyfink'
Liked least: DvD wasn't working, BBQ?, could do with a spring clean
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerly58
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Can't stay away!”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just paid our fourth visit to the Gate House- it has become my home from home.
I have two dogs and to find such a perfect place to holiday with dogs is rare
Not only is the house right in a huge beautiful park, but it has direct access to the massive beach, which allows dogs all year round. As a bonus, there is a beach café and toilets, plus a tap for water top ups for the dogs. There is also a café in the park
There are shops nearby too
A big thank you too, to Dee, the housekeeper. The house is beautifully kept and Dee is so obliging and friendly
Really, we do nothing more than walk to the beach, lunch at the café, sit on the beach watching the world go by and then returning home for more relaxation!
It truly is the most heavenly place and I will, of course, be visiting again as soon as I can
Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnold12...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely quaint house, full of character”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Gatehouse is a lovely cottage, leading out to park. Lovely walks, really enjoyed our time. A great place to explore Dover castle, shell grotto at Margate and Deal Castle.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerly58
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If there is a heaven.....”
Reviewed 19 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Well I've been to the Gatehouse AGAIN! THis time I took a friend who had not visited the area before. She was as enamoured as me- it is just the perfect place for complete relaxation. Excellent dog walking, fabulous beaches, friendly people, handy shops etc, good bars and cafes. And to top all that, the house is just a jewel! We will be back and thank you for letting us share your lovely house

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing